tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills

ROBERT RODRIGUEZ

Machete Kills

Movie
ActionPulp

[50/100]   

Splendid Films
10/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

The story from Machete started as a joke: a trailer from a non-existing movie that was put between Death Proof and Planet Terror in the Grindhouse-project from Rodriguez and Tarantino. Because the public thought that Danny Trejo looked incredible cool, Rodriguez decided that it would be a good idea to give his Mexican hero a whole movie. Machete from 2010 is a nice action flick: a masterpiece it ain’t, but irresistible funny nonetheless! Four year laters Rodriguez repeated the joke in Machete Kills. Without doubting the fact that he meant it in a way good, the movie has become just another misser from Rodriguez who also kind of raped this year Sin City with the unnecessary sequel.

The story is completely crazy. Machete (Danny Trejo) gets the orders from the American president to catch criminal Mendez (Demian Bichir). That’s not a very easy thing to do as the heart from the crook is connected with a bomb: if he dies, whole Washington will explode. What follows is a stupid James Bond-story that probably is penned down by a kid (with a very bad taste). The plots (if they exist) are completely ridiculous, the characters are not funny at all (another low in Mel Gibson’s terrible career) and even if there are many explosions, you might fall asleep during the middle of this boring story. You say we didn’t get it as Rodriguez just wanted to make an ode to those lovely action flicks from the 70’s? We know that, mind you, but just like in Sin City 2 everything is so exagerrated that it starts to work on the nerves.

Danny Trejo is indeed cool and Michelle Rodriguez will always remain one of the most gorgeous babes a boy can think of (just like Jessica Alba who is featured for some minutes), but with that alone you can’t please 100 minutes the eyes of the viewer. In both the beginning and the end we are warned that Machete will return in Machete Kills Again In Space. No, Rodriguez, just leave it like that!

Machete Kills is released on Splendid Films. Lots of beautiful babes, that’s for sure, but cinematographic wise there’s nothing to see!
 

Didier BECU
10/10/2014


NL

Het verhaal van Machete begon ooit als een grap, nl. als de trailer van een niet bestaande film die tussen Death Proof en Planet Terror in het Grindhouse-project werd gegooid. Omdat het publiek vond dat Danny Trejo er onweerstaanbaar cool uitzag, bezorgde bedenker Robert Rodriguez in 2010 de Mexicaanse held een volwaardige film. Het resultaat mocht er best wezen: een meesterwerk was het niet, maar voldoende grappig. Vier jaar later deed Rodriguez het met Machete Kills nog eens over, en alhoewel het waarschijnlijk allemaal wel goed bedoeld is, gaat de koning van de slechte smaak wederom ronduit op zijn bek (iets wat hij dit jaar al eerder deed met het onnodige vervolg op Sin City).

Het verhaal is te gek voor woorden. Machete (Danny Trejo) wordt door de Amerikaanse president opgetrommeld om de crimineel Mendez (Demian Bichir) uit te schakelen. Eenvoudig is dat niet, want aan zijn hart is een bom gekoppeld. Sterft Mendez, dan wordt meteen ook Washington uitgeschakeld. Wat volgt is een (slecht) James Bond-achtig verhaal dat door een kleuter is geschreven. De plots (als die al aanwezig zijn) zijn ronduit lachwekkend, de vele personages debiel (nog nooit zag je bijv. zo’n slechte Mel Gibson aan het werk) en het verhaal is ondanks de vele explosies gewoonweg slaapverwekkend. Je zegt dat we het niet hebben begrepen omdat Rodriguez een ode wilde brengen aan de actiefilm uit de jaren 70? Natuurlijk weten we dat, alleen is Rodriguez er niet in geslaagd om dat op een goede manier te doen. Net zoals in Sin City 2 is het allemaal zo overdreven dat het gewoon op de zenuwen werkt.

Danny Trejo is wel cool en Michelle Rodriguez blijft nog altijd één van de lekkerste babes van het moment (net als Jessica Alba die je een paar minuten aan het werk ziet), alleen kun je daar de kijker geen honderd minuten mee paaien. Zowel op het einde als bij het begin worden we ervan op de hoogte gebracht dat Machete zal terugkeren in Machete Kills Again In Space. Neen, Rodriguez laat het maar zitten.

Machete Kills is uitgebracht op Splendid Films. Aan mooie vrouwen geen gebrek, voor de cinematografische meerwaarde heb je meer dan één vergrootglas nodig!

Didier BECU
10/10/2014


10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills 10/10/2014 : ROBERT RODRIGUEZ - Machete Kills

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
08
AMMO
Rose + Crown
05
08
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us