tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl / digital review

04/02/2021 : ROUGE - Ultimatum

ROUGE

Ultimatum

MusicVinyl / Digital
EBMTechno Body Music

[90/100]   

Detriti Records
04/02/2021, Peter DOLPHEN

Detriti Records is always in for some great pounding beats with a 'dark edge'. All vinyl, all quite limited as well.

No different is this wonderful release "Ultimatum" by the French project Roüge. The Marseille-based female DJ/Producer explores the path between floating techno and EBM. A line which often is already blurred anyways.

Roüge takes you on a trip through her 'red' land on this being her very first 12" (in 2019 she already released a digital track on her Bandcamp-page).

The intro still keeps it low profile, but the second track "Potential danger" shakes me up big time. Great beat, great flow... this is pure drugs! My flight continues through on "Nuclear". Dear god, how do I love the way this punches in the face! "Invasion" doesn't hold back either and keeps it pumping. It's like an neverending hover over the dancefloor (in this case my livingroom). "Race against time" pitches the tempo a bit higher, followed by "Mind Games", which comes close to the cyber-beats we experienced in our scene some years ago.

But then... O my goodness... "Sympathy"... What a bomb. Together with "Potential Danger" THE highlight of the album. This is for me the perfect beat to go on all night long.

Final track "Cosmic Mission" is only a small cooldown: also this track is specked with constant beats, but less overload on the arrangements here... Ideal close-down for the album.

I really enjoyed this album. Love it a lot. Please do it again... Soon... Like, repeat? Hell yes: repeat! And repeat! And repeat!

Peter DOLPHEN
04/02/2021


04/02/2021 : ROUGE - Ultimatum 04/02/2021 : ROUGE - Ultimatum 04/02/2021 : ROUGE - Ultimatum

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)