tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist

RUBEN OSTLUND

Turist

Movie
Drama

[90/100]   

Lumire
05/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Travelling usually implies joy, unfortunately it also can be the basis for a fierce family drama. Just ask Tomas (John Bah Kuhnke)! Together with his wife Ebba (Lisa Loven Kongsli), he goes to a luxury hotel in the Alps. The trip should be a perfect opportunity for the Swedish family to forget its daily worries. That is the case on the first day, but 24 hours later something terrible happens. Some idiotic critics thought it necessary to spoil the fun by telling viewers what exactly is going on, but we don't. Let us say that it is an event that destroys the image of Thomas as a loving father.

Director Ruben Östlund is best known as a grandmaster in making ski movies (that exists!). The snowy peaks of Chamonix are for him the ideal decor. We have already seen a lot of movies in our lives (probably even too much), but it is the first time that a white display is terrifying. Frightening images that are alternated by a quarrel between husband and wife as they (finally) discover the dark edges of each other during the trip. Östlund took almost all his inspiration from ordinary YouTube videos. Hollywood screenwriters sometimes invent the most intricate stories, but the most bizarre, sensational stories are available on the street. That is also the case in Turist. And again without revealing a word, we bet you willll think twice before you step on a bus after seeing the final scene.

With a simple fact, sharp dialogues and a stunning photography, Ruben Östlund dives two hours long in the subconscious of a supposedly happy family. Is it a satire? A drama? Horror of daily life? Or the Fatal Attraction of the arthouse circuit? Who knows, fact is that you will have a lot ot think about after seeing Turist, especially if you 're a man !

The performances are, according to Scandinavian standards, once again excellent, with John Bah Kuhnke of Real Humans probably the most famous face.

Turist is a must see. Sublime! Now out on DVD and Blu-ray on Lumière.

Didier BECU
05/07/2015


NL

Reizen impliceert vreugde, helaas kan het ook de aanzet zijn voor een bikkelhard familiedrama. Vraag het maar aan Tomas (Johannes Bah Kuhnke)! Samen met zijn vrouw Ebba (Lisa Loven Kongsli) trekt hij naar een luxueus hotel in de Alpen. Het uitstapje moet het Zweedse gezin de dagelijkse zorgen laten vergeten. Dat gebeurt ook op de eerste dag, maar 24 uur later gebeurt er iets verschrikkelijks. Een gebeurtenis is waardoor het imago van Tomas als liefhebbende vader als sneeuw voor de zon verdwijnt. Wat er precies gebeurt? Nou, dat zeggen we lekker niet omdat we de pret niet willen bederven, maar Tomas is niet langer meer de beschermende vader die voor zijn kroost in de bres springt. Hij is eerder een lafaard, en dat zal hij de komende twee uur weten. Ebba heeft geen zin meer om haar leven met zo’n man te delen en de reis wordt een ware hel.

Regisseur Ruben Östlund is vooral bekend als een grootmeester in het maken van skifilms (dat bestaat dus) en dus zijn de besneeuwde bergtoppen van Chamonix voor hem het ideale decor. We hebben al veel films gezien in ons leven (waarschijnlijk zelfs te veel), maar het is voor het eerst dat een wit scherm akelig wordt. Angstaanjagende beelden die worden afgewisseld met een vlijmscherpe ruzie tussen man en vrouw die tijdens een reis de donkere kantjes van elkaar (eindelijk) leren kennen. Östlund vond bijna al zijn inspiratie in ordinaire YouTube-filmpjes. Want tja, Hollywoodscenaristen vinden soms de meest ingewikkelde verhalen uit, maar de meest bizarre, ophefmakende verhalen vind je toch nog altijd op straat. Ook in Turist. En dan is er nog die slotscène! De Zweedse regisseur heeft blijkbaar ook iets met autocars. Net zoals in zijn bejubelde collagefilm De Ofrivilliga krijgen we weer een scène die je twee keer zal doen nadenken alvorens je een reisje met een autobus boekt.

Door een simpel gegeven, maar met spitse dialogen en een verbluffende fotografie, voert Ruben Östlund je twee uur lang door het onderbewustzijn van een zogezegd gelukkig gezin. Is het een satire? Een drama? Horror uit het dagelijkse leven? De Fatal Attraction uit het arthousecircuit? Wie zal het zeggen, feit is dat je na het zien van Turist zal nadenken. Hoe reageert iemand als zijn leven wordt bedreigd? Wordt hij geleid door een overlevingsinstinct of denkt hij in de eerste plaats aan het in veiligheid brengen van zijn geliefden? Het is misschien een zinloze vraag, maar wees er maar zeker van dat je er tijdens Turist over zal nadenken.De vertolkingen zijn naar Scandinavische normen weeral uitmuntend, met Johannes Bah Kuhnke uit Real Humans als bekendste gezicht.

Turist moet je zien. Subliem. Turist is vanaf nu verkrijgbaar op dvd en Blu-ray via Lumière.

Didier BECU
05/07/2015


05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret