tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

22/01/2015 : S.M. NURSE - Hometape Recordings 1981 - 1983

S.M. NURSE

Hometape Recordings 1981 - 1983

MusicVinyl
ExperimentalMinimalSynth Wave

[90/100]   

Domestica
22/01/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Normally I have to be completely neutral when I write a new review. But this S.M. Nurse album is something special to me. More than 30 years ago I taped some music from radio programmes such as RadioNome and Spleen of the Dutch broadcaster VPRO.

I never found out the band’s name. The tracks where, for that time, completely different, and opened up a new vision on electronic music for me.

Only decades later I found out the band’s name, and now Domestica Records releases this S.M. Nurse tracks. The album is called ‘Hometape Recordings 1981-1983’, and it is a compilation of their best songs between 81 and 83, that were never before released in vinyl format.

Menko Konings (eM.) founded this Dutch underground formation around 1980, first together with Jos Jak and later also with Anneke Stempher. S.M. Nurse experimented with collage-like music and was inspired by N.Y.-ultra and disco. At the end of 1983, S.M. Nurse split up. Meno Konings continued solo as eM.

So, after splitting up more than 30 years ago, we now can enjoy the creativity of this band. The album begins with ‘Hot Day In Istanbul’, ethnic tunes, analogue synths, guitar, and tapes of film conversations, all mixed up and creating a superb sound. Most songs were created according to the same concept, sometimes they are even danceable, sometimes they are very chaotic and confused, but brilliantly new for that period. This album contains 10 tracks that should please every minimal wave lover. Maybe you can call it nostalgia, but this is how it all started.

Bellow you find a special live recording from those days: ‘My Greedy Policeman’.

A1. Hot Day In Istanbul
A2. How Does It Feel
A3. No Pop
A4. Heimwerker
A5. Some Girls Don't Mind

B1. Worst Und Bier/Dance
B2. Miti Mi
B3. Mutations/Show Time
B4. Jing Jang Jong
B5. My Greedy Policeman

Peter HESELMANS
22/01/2015


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)