tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/09/2015 : S4 - Cold Duck

S4

Cold Duck

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazz
Monotype records
18/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

 S4 is a group of four soprano saxophone players. They are together since 2010 and debuted at the Zoom-In festival for improvised music that same year. The only other time I did a soprano quartet was in 1987, says founding member John Butler, and so it was time for an update! After studying at the University of Surrey, Butler made conventional jazz and from there he moved towards freer forms, to improvised music, for which he experimented with amplifiers and overdubbing.

The album Cold Duck is the result of the collaboration between Butler, Christian Kobi, Hans Koch and Urs Leimgruber: four soprano saxophones in dialogue with one another; sometimes melodious, but mostly weird sound compositions with an improvised structure. No melodies in the classical sense. This is a discussion at a high intellectual level and that's fodder for a mature audience that is limited to the small circle of jazz aficionados. The sound pattern is relatively smooth and monotonous, which means that the uninitiated will hardly find their way in the material.

In jazz circles Cold Duck gets good reviews and so we may assume that this is an excellent album, that we like to bring to the attention of those who are interested in the genre.

Tracklist:
1.I
2.II
3.III
4.IV
5.V
6.VI
7.VII
8.VIII
9.IX

youtube.com/watch?v=tlgr5VPiSr8
soundcloud.com/monotyperec/s4-cold-duck-mono096-preview

William LIÉNARD
18/09/2015


NL

S4 is een gezelschap van vier sopraansaxofoonspelers dat sinds 2010 muziek maakt. De Brit John Butler geldt een beetje als de bezieler van het kwartet waarmee hij op het Zoom In-festival voor geïmproviseerde muziek in datzelfde jaar debuteerde. Het is van 1987 geleden dat ik nog iets dergelijks deed, zegt hij daarover, en dus was het tijd voor een update! Na zijn studies aan de universiteit van Surrey begon Butler conventionele jazz te maken en vandaar evolueerde hij naar vrijere vormen, naar geïmproviseerde muziek, waarvoor hij experimenteerde met versterkers en overdubbings.

Op Cold Duck hoort u het resultaat van de samenwerking tussen Butler, Christian Kobi, Hans Koch en Urs Leimgruber: vier sopraansaxofoons die met elkaar in dialoog treden en soms welluidende, maar meestal bizarre geluidscomposities afleveren met een geïmproviseerde structuur. Van melodieën is zo goed als geen sprake, dit is een discussie op hoog intellectueel niveau en dat is voer voor een geroutineerd publiek dat zich wellicht beperkt tot de kleine kring van jazz-liefhebbers. Het klankpatroon is vrij egaal en dat betekent dat er sprake is van een vrij monotoon klankbeeld waarin de niet ingewijde nauwelijks zijn weg vindt.

In de jazz-pers krijgt Cold Duck goede kritieken en dus mogen we ervan uitgaan dat het hier om een uitstekend album gaat dat we graag onder de aandacht brengen van wie interesse heeft voor het genre.

William LIÉNARD
18/09/2015


 

Next reviews
KIM WILDE • Kim Wilde
JAMES MCBAIN • Nephilim/Raven (7inch)
DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD • Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015
SINEAD O'CONNOR • The Foggy Dew
ISBELLS • Billy
ROSE MCDOWALL • Cut With The Cake Knife
FICTION 8 • Dark Star Disarray
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic
HENRY HOBSON • Maggie

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + JAZZ
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail
SATAN IS MY BROTHER • A Forest Dark
KRENG • Grimoire
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My