tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/09/2015 : S4 - Cold Duck

S4

Cold Duck

MusicCD
ExperimentalJazz
Monotype records
18/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

 S4 is a group of four soprano saxophone players. They are together since 2010 and debuted at the Zoom-In festival for improvised music that same year. The only other time I did a soprano quartet was in 1987, says founding member John Butler, and so it was time for an update! After studying at the University of Surrey, Butler made conventional jazz and from there he moved towards freer forms, to improvised music, for which he experimented with amplifiers and overdubbing.

The album Cold Duck is the result of the collaboration between Butler, Christian Kobi, Hans Koch and Urs Leimgruber: four soprano saxophones in dialogue with one another; sometimes melodious, but mostly weird sound compositions with an improvised structure. No melodies in the classical sense. This is a discussion at a high intellectual level and that's fodder for a mature audience that is limited to the small circle of jazz aficionados. The sound pattern is relatively smooth and monotonous, which means that the uninitiated will hardly find their way in the material.

In jazz circles Cold Duck gets good reviews and so we may assume that this is an excellent album, that we like to bring to the attention of those who are interested in the genre.

Tracklist:
1.I
2.II
3.III
4.IV
5.V
6.VI
7.VII
8.VIII
9.IX

youtube.com/watch?v=tlgr5VPiSr8
soundcloud.com/monotyperec/s4-cold-duck-mono096-preview

William LIÉNARD
18/09/2015


NL

S4 is een gezelschap van vier sopraansaxofoonspelers dat sinds 2010 muziek maakt. De Brit John Butler geldt een beetje als de bezieler van het kwartet waarmee hij op het Zoom In-festival voor geïmproviseerde muziek in datzelfde jaar debuteerde. Het is van 1987 geleden dat ik nog iets dergelijks deed, zegt hij daarover, en dus was het tijd voor een update! Na zijn studies aan de universiteit van Surrey begon Butler conventionele jazz te maken en vandaar evolueerde hij naar vrijere vormen, naar geïmproviseerde muziek, waarvoor hij experimenteerde met versterkers en overdubbings.

Op Cold Duck hoort u het resultaat van de samenwerking tussen Butler, Christian Kobi, Hans Koch en Urs Leimgruber: vier sopraansaxofoons die met elkaar in dialoog treden en soms welluidende, maar meestal bizarre geluidscomposities afleveren met een geïmproviseerde structuur. Van melodieën is zo goed als geen sprake, dit is een discussie op hoog intellectueel niveau en dat is voer voor een geroutineerd publiek dat zich wellicht beperkt tot de kleine kring van jazz-liefhebbers. Het klankpatroon is vrij egaal en dat betekent dat er sprake is van een vrij monotoon klankbeeld waarin de niet ingewijde nauwelijks zijn weg vindt.

In de jazz-pers krijgt Cold Duck goede kritieken en dus mogen we ervan uitgaan dat het hier om een uitstekend album gaat dat we graag onder de aandacht brengen van wie interesse heeft voor het genre.

William LIÉNARD
18/09/2015


 

Next reviews
KIM WILDE • Kim Wilde
JAMES MCBAIN • Nephilim/Raven (7inch)
DIVE, VOLKOVA, KARL HEFNER & HUGH LAGERFELD • Daft Records Night @ Kavka, Antwerp, 11/09/2015
SINEAD O'CONNOR • The Foggy Dew
ISBELLS • Billy
ROSE MCDOWALL • Cut With The Cake Knife
FICTION 8 • Dark Star Disarray
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
ME THE TIGER • Vitriolic
HENRY HOBSON • Maggie

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + JAZZ
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
EBERHARD WEBER • Encore
NUCLEUS TORN • Street Lights Fail
SATAN IS MY BROTHER • A Forest Dark
KRENG • Grimoire
M. OSTERMEIER • The Rules of Another Small World

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect