tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

SCHONWALD

Between Parallel Lights

MusicCD
Analogue SynthDark Electro

[79/100]   

anywave
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Alessandra Gismondi (vocals, bass) and Luca Bandini (guitar, synthesizers and drum machine) are coming from Ravenna, but nowhere in their sound do you hear the sunny atmosphere of the Adriatic coast. At contrary, this is very dark! The duo already toured for a while in various European clubs and with their previous records (Amplified Nature and Dream For the Fall) they became one of the groups from the minimal synth scene.

Their third album Between Parallel Lights, which contains ten songs, is a collaboration between the French labels Anywave and Manic Depression Records. And that is not an accidental thing, because their sound is both futuristic retro (the synth sounds from the early 80s) as dark (the muttering voice by Alessandro sounds very Nico-like).

The duo likes some experiment too. But do not worry, the songs might have a Dadaist character (Cabaret Voltaire is never far away), the repetitive beats will keep you awake.

The ten tracks on this record are all searching a way into your soul, which often results in superb dark electro pop that is similar to early Kirlian Camera. Sometimes it’s glamorous, sometimes just frightening, but always very original.

Schonwald makes pop, but not the kind of pop you are used to. Fascinating and beautiful!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

Alessandra Gismondi (zang, bass) en Luca Bandini (gitaar, synthesizers en drummachine) zijn wel afkomstig uit Ravenna, maar nergens hoor je in hun geluid ook maar een spatje van de Adriatische kust. Het duo toert al een tijdje in allerlei Europese clubs en met hun voorgaande platen (Amplified Nature en Dream For the Fall) zijn zij één van de te volgen groepen uit de minimal synth-scène.

Hun derde plaat Between Parallel Lights, dat tien songs bevat, is een samenwerking tussen de Franse labels Anywave en Manic Depression Records. En dat is verre van toevallig, want hun geluid klinkt zowel futuristisch retro (synthklanken uit het begin van de jaren 80) als gitzwart (de prevelende stem van Alessandra heeft een zeer hoog Nico-gehalte).

Ook haalt het duo niet zijn neus op voor wat experiment. Maar geen nood, de nummers hebben wel een dadaïstisch karakter (Cabaret Voltaire is nooit ver weg), gelukkig zorgen de repetitieve beats ervoor dat je steeds wakker blijft.

De tien nummers op deze plaat zoeken stuk voor stuk een weg in je ziel, wat vaak resulteert in bedwelmende donkere electropop die wel wat weg geeft van het vroegere Kirlian Camera-werk. Soms betoverend, dan weer beangstigend, maar vooral altijd origineel.

Schonwald maakt pop, alleen is het niet de pop die je gewoon bent. Fascinerend mooi!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights 30/09/2015 : SCHONWALD - Between Parallel Lights

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)