tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

06/10/2015 : SCHWARZBLUT - Judas EP

SCHWARZBLUT

Judas EP

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroIndustrialMedieval

[80/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
06/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

The Dutch collective Schwarzblut combines medieval texts with dark electro. In all fairness I must say that they are not the only ones doing so. What makes them unique however, is the combination of the deep dark synths and lyrics that carry you to places you normally never visit.

The combination of the industrial voice of Zeon and the more classical vocals by Angelica works good. To top it all, they add an atmosphere that feels like a classic film score, reminiscent to the early years of Star Trek.

Several bands have applied their electro-approach on the title track Judas: from metal guitars like Hell Sector does, to the more minimal sounds of the Commodore 64 version of Zur Hölle by ZC64, and the industrial touch of Cardinal Noire on Von Des Todes Surely Heit Und Der Tugend.

Four tracks in different versions, and that makes it a very varied 10-track EP that electro lovers certainly will like. For me a, this EP is a winner.

Ruben SAEY
06/10/2015


NL

Het Nederlandse collectief Schwarzblut brengt een combinatie van middeleeuwse teksten en dark electro. De eerlijkheid gebiedt mij te zeggen dat ze hiermee niet de enigen zijn die dat doen. Waarin ze wel uniek zijn is de manier waarop die combinatie gebeurt: donkere synths en diepe dark beats die de teksten naar plaatsen dragen waar je zelden komt.

De cyber industrial stem van Zeon wordt mooi gecounterd door de eerder klassieke vocalen van Angelica, het is een unieke combinatie die werkt. Om het geheel af te maken wordt dit alles overgoten met een klassieke filmscore die je meteen naar de beginjaren van Star Trek meeneemt.

De basistrack Judas wordt in de handen van verschillende bands gegeven, elk met hun eigen electrobenadering. Dat varieert van de met metal gitaren geladen remix door Hell Sector tot de wat meer minimal Commodore 64-versie van Zur Hölle door ZC64, tot de industrial inslag van Cardinal Noire in Von Des Todes Gewissheit Und Der Tugend.

Vier verschillende tracks in andere versies dus, en dat levert een heel gevarieerde 10-track-ep op waarin de electroliefhebber zeker zijn gading zal vinden. Wat mij betreft een geslaagde ep.

Ruben SAEY
06/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
ELANDOR • Loveless Mind
OMD • Dazzle Ships At Museum Of Liverpool
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COME WITH REVERSE • Composing Serernity
IMPLORE • Depopulation
EVERY HOUR KILLS • Every Hour Kills EP
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)