tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

06/10/2015 : SCHWARZBLUT - Judas EP

SCHWARZBLUT

Judas EP

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroIndustrialMedieval

[80/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
06/10/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

The Dutch collective Schwarzblut combines medieval texts with dark electro. In all fairness I must say that they are not the only ones doing so. What makes them unique however, is the combination of the deep dark synths and lyrics that carry you to places you normally never visit.

The combination of the industrial voice of Zeon and the more classical vocals by Angelica works good. To top it all, they add an atmosphere that feels like a classic film score, reminiscent to the early years of Star Trek.

Several bands have applied their electro-approach on the title track Judas: from metal guitars like Hell Sector does, to the more minimal sounds of the Commodore 64 version of Zur Hölle by ZC64, and the industrial touch of Cardinal Noire on Von Des Todes Surely Heit Und Der Tugend.

Four tracks in different versions, and that makes it a very varied 10-track EP that electro lovers certainly will like. For me a, this EP is a winner.

Ruben SAEY
06/10/2015


NL

Het Nederlandse collectief Schwarzblut brengt een combinatie van middeleeuwse teksten en dark electro. De eerlijkheid gebiedt mij te zeggen dat ze hiermee niet de enigen zijn die dat doen. Waarin ze wel uniek zijn is de manier waarop die combinatie gebeurt: donkere synths en diepe dark beats die de teksten naar plaatsen dragen waar je zelden komt.

De cyber industrial stem van Zeon wordt mooi gecounterd door de eerder klassieke vocalen van Angelica, het is een unieke combinatie die werkt. Om het geheel af te maken wordt dit alles overgoten met een klassieke filmscore die je meteen naar de beginjaren van Star Trek meeneemt.

De basistrack Judas wordt in de handen van verschillende bands gegeven, elk met hun eigen electrobenadering. Dat varieert van de met metal gitaren geladen remix door Hell Sector tot de wat meer minimal Commodore 64-versie van Zur Hölle door ZC64, tot de industrial inslag van Cardinal Noire in Von Des Todes Gewissheit Und Der Tugend.

Vier verschillende tracks in andere versies dus, en dat levert een heel gevarieerde 10-track-ep op waarin de electroliefhebber zeker zijn gading zal vinden. Wat mij betreft een geslaagde ep.

Ruben SAEY
06/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ORTROTASCE • Ortrotasce
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
ELANDOR • Loveless Mind
OMD • Dazzle Ships At Museum Of Liverpool
HANGMAN'S CHAIR • This is not Supposed to be Positive
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COME WITH REVERSE • Composing Serernity
IMPLORE • Depopulation
EVERY HOUR KILLS • Every Hour Kills EP
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night