tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West

SETH MACFARLANE

A Million Ways To Die In The West

Movie
ComedyParodyWestern

[63/100]   

Universal Pictures
16/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We better warn you before you start watching A Million Ways To Die In The West. The maker is Seth MacFarlane. Some hate him, some love him, but the man who created both Family Guy and American Dad doesn’t care. If you want to reach the big audience then they’re no borders. After having made his film debut that featured a brutal teddy bear (Ted), Universal gave him total freedom. His next move is a western parody! Wait a moment! Did Mel Brooks make something like that in 1974? Yes, but mind you, A Million Ways To Die In The West is not completely a Blazing Saddles-copy. And no, that’s not a bad thing. Seth MacFarlane will never be remembered for his cinematographic skills, but he definitely knows how to make a movie funny!

When you watch all those westerns by John Ford you’d swear you only find gunfighters in the Wild West, but there were surely some pussies around. Shepherd Albert (Seth MacFarlane) is one of them. If he’s challenged for a duel, you can bet your money on it that he runs away like a coward. His girlfriend Louise (Amanda Seyfried) is bored by this behaviour and wants a real man on her side. Albert’s life as a bachelor is short as out of the blue comes the handsome Anna (Charlize Theron) who considers him as the man of her life. The poor sod doesn’t realize that she’s the wife from the feared outlaw Clinch (Liam Neeson).

No, you won’t find any subtlety in A Million Ways To Die In The West, but this was of course never Seth MacFarlane’s goal. You even will find people around who think that this type of humour should be banned, but the real truth is that this is fun! Okay, if you really force use to say something bad then we had to admit that this parody never equals Ted and of course that’s the film is far too long (two hours for a comedy never works). The acting is decent and of course Charlize Theron is gorgeous as a cowgirl. But then again, she’s always gorgeous! Something we can’t say about Seth MacFarlane who really can’t act, and that’s quite a painful thing if you’re having the main role!

 A Million Ways To Die In The West is out on DVD and Blu-ray via Universal Pictures.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


NL

Vooraleer je aan A Million Ways To Die In The West weet je maar bedenker dat de man achter de camera Seth MacFarlane is. Inderdaad, de bedenker van Family Guy en American Dad die met zijn filmdebuut het geniale idee had om met een grofgebekte teddybeer (Ted) op de proppen te komen. Het gevolg was dat MacFarlane zijn vrije gang mocht gaan van de Universal-studio’s. Hij koos dit keer voor een parodie op de western. Wacht eens, deed Mel Brooks dat niet in 1974? Jawel, maar A Million Ways To Die In The West is Blazing Saddles niet. En neen, dat is niet eens een sneer aan het adres van Seth MacFarlane. Zijn doel is overduidelijk: vulgaire grappen die net niet de grens van de goede smaak overschrijden (alhoewel!) naar het Wilde Westen transformeren. Op cinematografisch vlak valt er weinig moois te bespeuren, qua entertainment kan het tellen!

Als je de westerns van John Ford bekijkt zou je het niet meteen merken, maar niet iedereen was een held in het Wilde Westen. De schapenboer Albert (Seth MacFarlane) is zo’n mietje. Als hij wordt uitgedaagd voor een duel dan muist hij er zich op de meest lullige manier vandoor. Zijn liefje Louise (Amanda Seyfried) heeft er schoon genoeg van en wil eindelijk een echte vent aan haar zijde. Albert is echter niet voor lange tijd een vrijgezel. Geheel onverwachts maakt de knappe Anna (Charlize Theron) hem het hof. De herder vertoeft niet langt in de zevende hemel, want al gauw blijkt de blondine de echtgenote van de gevaarlijke outlaw Clinch (Liam Neeson) te zijn.

Subtiliteit moet je in A Million Ways To Die In The West niet gaan zoeken, maar iedereen weet dat dit nooit de bedoeling van Seth MacFarlane is geweest. Er zullen beslist mensen rondlopen die vinden dat zo’n humor zou moeten worden verbannen, maar het blijft een feit dat het onweerstaanbaar grappig is. In alle eerlijkheid is deze parodie niet zo grappig als Ted en is twee uur voor een komedie een te lange filmrit, toch is A Million Ways To Die In The West aan te raden als je van dit soort ongein houdt. De acteerprestaties zijn best aardig, vooral Charlize Theron is heerlijk als cowgirl (maar ja, wanneer is zij dat niet?). Seth MacFarlane daarentegen was beter achter de camera gebleven, want acteren kan hij niet en dat is pijnlijk als je de hoofdrol vertolkt!

 A Million Ways To Die In The West is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Universal Pictures.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West 16/10/2014 : SETH MACFARLANE - A Million Ways To Die In The West

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My