tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/07/2014 : SIMI NAH - Be my guest

SIMI NAH

Be my guest

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectroElectronics

[84/100]   

W2K Music
17/07/2014, Benny CALUWE

EN

Simi Nah is the band formed by female singer Simi Nah, the French woman who used to be the bassist player from Pragha Khan and who is of course the daughter from Micky Mike (Snowy Red).

When I saw on Facebook that Simi Nah would make a cover album with some guests, I was immediately wild about this idea. Especially because Simi Nah earlier proved that she has the ability to make covers strong and surprising. A fine example of that is when she ended her gig at Rewind Fest 2013 with a splendid cover from Snowy Red’s Euroshima (Wardance): on stage a real bomb! Do also check out the 2083 mix from Alice (indeed the Sisters Of Mercy-classic) that appeared on her Cherchez La Femme-debut.

The including guests are big names from the Belgian wave and alternative scene: Dirk Ivens, Dirk Da Davo, Luc Van Acker, Danny Mommens from Vive La Fête, Nicky Van Lierop and WimPunk.

The CD starts with Cheree: a track by electro punk pioneers Suicide. Simi Nah is assisted here by Wim Punk: the founder of The Wolf Banes. It’s kind of strange that Dirk Ivens isn’t involved in here, as after all he’s a huge fan of this duo. Then comes the Neue Welle-classic Eisbear (with Danny Mommens): a very strong opener that is! Other wave classics that get a restoration are Euroshima (with Saphyée), Cabaret Voltaire’s Nag Nag Nag (with Dirk Da Davo) and Visage’s Fade To Grey (with KGB): all performed with delicious beats!

A special note is for You Spin Me Round (like a record) that is duet with Dirk Ivens. This cover has a much more dark and threatening feel then the original from Dead Or Alive: the new wave band from singer Pete Burns. Disco Rough (feat. Luc Van Acker) also sounds quite different as the original: the tempo has been slowed down and that graces the result! The strangest track on here is Follow Me. The original has been sung by Amanda Lear. For me she’s unknown, but Wikipedia taught me that she was the White Queen Of Disco. A fantastic electrotrack that features the gorgeous voice from Nicky Van Lierop (original female singer from Lords Of Acid).

So even if the styles differ from the original songs we can say that this collection of covers is a winner.

Benny CALUWE
17/07/2014


NL

Simi Nah is de band rond de zangeres Simi Nah, de Française die voorheen bassiste was van Pragha Khan. Samen met KGB en Safyéé, de dochter van Micky Mike (Snowy Red)

Toen ik op Facebook de aankondiging zag dat Simi Nah een coveralbum ging maken met enkele gasten, was ik meteen enthousiast. Simi Nah bewees eerder al dat ze het in zich heeft sterke en verrassende covers te maken. Ze sloot haar optreden op Rewind Fest 2013 af met een uitstekende cover van Snowy Red’s Euroshima (Wardance). Live echt een bommetje. Check ook Alice – the 2083 mix, een heerlijke bewerking van the Sisters Of Mercy-klassieker dat op haar debuut Cherchez La Femme verscheen. De aangekondigde gasten blijken grote namen uit de Belgische wave en alternatieve muziek: Dirk Ivens, Dirk Da Davo, Luc Van Acker, Danny Mommens van Vive La Fête, Nicky Van Lierop en WimPunk.

De CD vangt aan met Cheree, een track van electropunk-pioniers Suicide. Simi Nah wordt bijgestaan door Wim Punk, de oprichter The Wolf Banes (en niet door Dirk Ivens, nochtans een notoire fan van Suicide). Gevolgd door Neue Welle classic Eisbear (met Danny Mommens): een sterke opening. Andere New Wave klassiekers die onder handen worden genomen zijn Euroshima (met Saphyée), Cabaret Voltaire’s Nag Nag Nag (met Dirk Da Davo) en Visage’s Fade To Grey (met KGB): allen met heerlijk voortstuwende beats.

Een speciale vermelding voor You Spin Me Round (like a record) in duet met Dirk Ivens. Deze track klinkt heel wat donkerder en dreigender dan het origineel van Dead Or Alive: de new wave band rond de androgyne zanger Pete Burns. Ook Disco Rough (feat. Luc Van Acker) klinkt heel anders dan het origineel: het tempo werd naar benden gehaald – met resultaat. Buitenbeentje tussen deze verzameling new wave songs is Follow Me, origineel van de mij onbekende Amanda Lear. Wikipedia leert mij dat ze de white Queen of disco was. Een heerlijke electrotrack werd het met de hese sexy stem van Nicky Van Lierop (originele zangeres van Lords Of Acid)

Hoewel de stijlen van de originele nummers nogal verschilt, vormen de covers ervan een consistent geheel: geslaagd album

Benny CALUWE
17/07/2014


 

Next reviews
SYLVER • CLASSICS: Changes
BLACK LUNG • The Great Golden Goal
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
JÉRÔME CHASSAGNARD • Inner Dialog
• SHAMELESS SEASON 2
A MOUTH FULL OF MATCHES • Smoke SIgnals EP
CARL RINSCH • 47 Ronin
HNN • L'ile nue
PARANOIA INDUCTA • maze of death
DEADWOOD • Sheolic

 

Other reviews from SIMI NAH
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMI NAH • B52, Eernegem (26/03/2016)
SIMI NAH • Bootleg
SIMI NAH • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
SIMI NAH • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
SIMI NAH • 5

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + ELECTRO + ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
WIELORYB • Semantik
SIMI NAH • Be My Guest
ELASTIK • Instrumental
MODULATE • Robots EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo