tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

SOME SKELETONS

Vigils

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[80/100]   

Mountain Of Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The music of the trio Some Skeletons (Nottingham) sounds less dangerous than the band name suggests. It is not dark wave or post-punk, but rather (innocent) alternative rock. Nothing wrong with that, but it’s good to know!

The music sounds like alternative rock from the 90s. The guitars are the base, along with a homogeneous and melodic overall sound. It sounds a bit like The Lemonheads or Adventures. At first listen, it’s like Tweedledum and Tweedledee, but after a few spins you note the differences between the songs. Some songs are definitely worth hearing, like To Exceed, To Archieve that contains nice guitars and which is also the longest song here.

They sound a bit like vintage 90s, but the debut album has depth, at least if you take your time. An album with good songs and catchy melodies.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De muziek van het trio Some Skeletons (uit Nottingham) klinkt minder gevaarlijk dan de bandnaam laat vermoeden. Het is geen darkwave of post-punk, maar eerder (ongevaarlijke) alternatieve rock. Op zich niets mis mee, maar gewoon een kwestie van je niet op een dwaalspoor te laten brengen.

De muziek klinkt een beetje als alternatieve rock uit de nineties. Basis zijn de gitaren die samen met de rest een homogeen en melodisch totaalgeluid opleveren. Een beetje zoals The Lemonheads of Adventures klinken. Bij de eerste beluistering klinkt alles een beetje als één pot nat, maar na enkele keren beginnen zich de verschillen tussen de songs af te tekenen. Enkele songs zijn zeker en vast de moeite waard, zoals To Exceed, To archieve dat prettig in het gehoor liggend gitaarwerk bevat en dat met zijn vier minuten tevens de langste song is.

De meeste songs zijn zo'n drie minuten lang. Het refrein wordt in het merendeel van de tracks als een samenzang gebracht. In Up On The Rocks slaat de stem van de zanger soms bewust wat over, wat een aardig effect oplevert. Hi, Give Me The Disease is nog zo’n catchy track. In totaal staan er zo’n negen songs op Vigils.

Ze klinken wat als vintage 90s, maar het debuutalbum heeft wel diepgang als je er je tijd voor neemt. Een album met goede songs en catchy melodieën, dat tijdens een eerste beluistering wat vrijblijvend klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils 09/12/2016 : SOME SKELETONS - Vigils

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour