tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her

SPIKE JONZE

Her

Movie
DramaScience Fiction

[82/100]   

Paradiso
01/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Winning a film award for best actress without people seeing you one second? It happened to Scarlett Johansson. The gorgeous blonde won at the Filmfestival from Rome the price for Best Actress for performing a computer voice. There was even talk to nominate her for an Oscar, but in the end the people from the Academy Awards played on safe, even if director Spike Jonze got one for Best Script!

People who know something about movies will definitely know that Spike Jonze is not the kind of director who makes it himself that easy, even if you could describe Her as a romantic (horror) tale.

The videoclip maker who became in 1999 famous with Being John Malkovich asks in this futuristic vision of life if mankind can fall in love with a computer voice or not. Before you say no, you better think of all those loners you know who have thousands of friends on Facebook.

Theodore Twombly (Joaquin Phoenix) is such a type. He is recently divorced and everything looks like he will be alone for the rest of his life. A contrast with his daily job for the company beautifulhandwrittenletters.com where he pens down day in day out ultimate romantic letters for others. And then it happens. He buys a new advanced computer system and falls head over heels in love with the operating system voice Samantha (yeah, a splendid Scarlett Johansson). He takes “her” everywhere with: from a dinner to a restaurant to a visit at the beach with colleagues. His best friend Amy (Amy Adams) completely understands that this is not normal, but at least Theodore is happy.

At first sight you’d say that this movie doesn’t sound intriguing, but of course you’re in the safe hands from Spike Jonze who turns every movie into a strange own world. The world is totally digitalized and everyone has lost contact with mankind itself, they only life for their computer! A tragic life vision that gets an extra dimension with the amazing soundtrack by The Arcade Fire and Karen 0.

Every image works and in a way it feels like all protagonists want to end, at some point, their life. So no, Her might be categorized as a romantic movie, but you surely won’t feel pretty afterwards. Add to that stunning performances by Joaquin Phoenix, Scarlett Johansson and Amy Adams and you know that Her is one of the film experiences of the moment you might not miss. Great script, a subject to think about, eye blinding decors, a genius soundtrack….to say it much shorter: Her is one of the tips of the moment!

Her is out on DVD on Paradiso Entertainment.

Didier BECU
01/08/2014


NL

Een filmprijs winnen voor beste actrice zonder dat je ook maar één seconde in beeld komt? Scarlett Johansson deed het. De knappe blondine veroverde op het Filmfestival van Rome immers (en verdiend!) de prijs van beste actrice door een computerstem te vertolken. Eventjes werd zelfs geopperd dat ze ook in aanmerking zou komen voor een eventuele Oscar, maar de heren van de Academy Awards speelden alsnog op veilig, ofschoon regisseur Spike Jonze een Oscar voor beste scenario in de wacht sleepte.


Wie iets afweet van film is vanzelfsprekend ook op de hoogte van het feite dat Spike Jonze niet meteen de meest toegankelijke filmmaker is, ook al kun je Her eigenlijk gewoon als een romantisch (horror)sprookje bestempelen.


De videoclipmaker die in 1999 definitief doorbrak met Being John Malkovich stelt in deze futuristische visie op het leven de vraag of een mens wel of niet verliefd kan worden op een computerstem. Alvorens je neen antwoordt, denk eerst eens na of over je computeractiviteiten. Je kent wellicht meer dan genoeg eenzaten die via Facebook duizenden “vrienden” hebben, niet?


Theodore Twombly (Joaquin Phoenix) is ook zo’n vreemde vogel. Zijn huwelijk is stukgelopen en alles ziet er naar uit dat hij verder eenzaam door het leven zal moeten gaan. Een sterk contrast met zijn job. Bij het bedrijf beautifulhandwrittenletters.com schrijft hij immers dagelijks massa’s liefdesbrieven voor anderen. En dan gebeurt het. Theodore schaft zich een nieuw geavanceerd computersysteem aan en valt voor de computerstem Samantha (een, jawel, schitterende Scarlett Johansson). Hij neemt “haar” overal mee: van een restaurantbezoekje tot een weekendje aan zee met vrienden. Zijn hartsvriendin Amy (Amy Adams) snapt dat dit helemaal niet klopt, maar haar vriend is gelukkig.


Op het eerste gezicht lijkt dit een allesbehalve interessant concept, maar je mag niet vergeten dat je in handen bent van Spike Jonze die wederom via de pellicule een heel apart wereldbeeld schept. De maatschappij is volledig gedigitaliseerd en van menselijke emoties is er nauwelijks sprake. Mensen lopen elkaar voorbij en zijn alleen maar geïnteresseerd in hun computer, de muziek van The Arcade Fire en Karen 0 benadrukt deze desolate sfeer extra.


Ieder beeld is raak en soms lijkt het alsof de protagonisten op ieder moment een einde aan hun leven willen maken. Neen, Her is misschien volgens de letter wel een romantische film, vrolijk word je er evenwel niet van! Voeg daar nog bij de excellente vertolkingen van Joaquin Phoenix, Scarlett Johansson of Amy Adams en je weet dat Her een filmbelevenis is die aan je broek blijft plakken. Knap scenario, een onderwerp om over na te denken, verbluffende futuristische decors, een briljante soundtrack, excellente fotografie…kortom: Her is één van de tips van het moment!


Her is nu uit op dvd via Paradiso Entertainment.

Didier BECU
01/08/2014


01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her 01/08/2014 : SPIKE JONZE - Her

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead
29
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated