tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L

STACIAN

Person L

MusicVinyl
IndustrialLo-fiSynth PunkSynthpop

[90/100]   

Night School Records
19/10/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Stacian -aka Dania Luck- was one half of duo Luxvid, authors of one of my favourite synth cassette releases in recent history, also reviewed here at Peek-a-Boo. Now she's back as a solo artist (after the 2012 album Music For Cadets) with this dirty little gem on Glaswegian label Night School Records.

Person L is a mostly instrumental effort where Stacian brings us a collection of synth-driven tracks that connect her music to Bay Area projects from the golden age of the early 2000s, like Sixteens or The Vanishing. If you listen more closely, you can hear some Add N To (X) and early ADULT. in it. This is not so much a dark record as it is tense, claustrophobic, and actually really fun.

Album highlights include the three tracks with vocals, 'Remote Cntl', the single 'Telephonix' and the first track 'Volx', possibly my favourite in the whole LP, with a slow pulse and a fantastic melody. All of them somehow manage to be heavy synth songs and at the same time really catchy, even poppy tunes.

The rest of the album has a much more unsettling quality to it though, with rough analogue synth sequences stepping over anxious, neurotic drum machines. All of it, obviously, extremely processed. Person L is a much welcome antidote to the overload of sugar-coated and overproduced Synthwave of our time. Available fom the Night School bandcamp website.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
19/10/2017


19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L 19/10/2017 : STACIAN - Person L

 

Next reviews
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA • La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
AMORPHOUS • Shapeshifting
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
SPECIAL LOVE • Unloveable
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE • Situational Awareness

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec

 

Same genre: LO-FI
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
THE MEN • New Moon
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice

 

Same genre: SYNTH PUNK
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD • SSS
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NUN • Self Titled

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead
29
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated