tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/09/2015 : STADT - Escalators

STADT

Escalators

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[82/100]   

Fons Records
15/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The first line that you’ll see on their Facebook page is the fact that Stadt is, according to many critics, the best kept musical secret of Ghent, Belgium. That’s a bit of a lie because there are two Dutch members involved (Fulco Ottervanger and Joris Cool), but it is also a truth that Simon and Frederik Segers (so, the two guys of Ghent) have made with Kind Of Diversion one of the most underrated Belgian debuts ever.

With Escalators, Stadt continue its psychedelic adventure, and once you listened to their second album you know damn well why dEUS invited them as support. On this album, the quartet presents eleven songs that all have something to do with indie, psychedelica and post-punk. Diversity is apparently their motto, on Breakthrough they sound like the nephews of Brian Wilson, Aching Not To Call is reminiscent of Bowie during his Berlin period. And yes, we could go on for a while: Human Interference sound as nervous as a Talking Heads song, while Catch Or Fall could fit on the newest Mercury Rev.

Stadt likes to experiment, the best example is the title track Escalators which has the same effect as if you were in an elevator after you swallowed a bag of magic mushrooms. No, do not worry, we have not tried it (yet), but it's definitely the third time that we heard this disc on one evening. So Stadt has something to do with mushrooms: it’s addictive!

The album will be out end October 2015.

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


NL

Op hun Facebookpagina steekt de groep het niet onder stoelen of banken: heel wat critici zijn ervan overtuigd dat Stadt het best bewaarde muziekgeheim uit Gent is. Het is deels een leugen omdat er in de groep twee Nederlanders zitten (Fulco Ottervanger en Joris Cool), maar het is ook een waarheid omdat zij samen met Simon en Frederik Segers (die twee Gentenaren dus!) met Kind Of Diversion één van de meest ondergewaardeerde Belgische debuutplaten hebben gemaakt.

Met hun tweede plaat Escalators zetten zij hun psychedelisch avontuur voort, en na afloop weet je verdomd goed waarom ze door dEUS gevraagd zijn als voorprogramma. Op deze plaat stelt het kwartet elf nummers voor die allemaal iets met indie, psychedelica en postpunk te maken hebben. Diversiteit is blijkbaar de leuze, want klinken ze op Breakthrough als de neefjes van Brian Wilson, dan heeft Aching Not To Call veel weg van Bowie uit zijn Berlin-periode. En tja, zo kunnen we wel een tijdje doorgaan: Human Interference klinkt even nerveus als een Talking Heads-nummer, terwijl Catch Or Fall op de nieuwe Mercury Rev kon staan.

Stadt is ook niet vies van wat experiment, het mooiste voorbeeld is de titeltrack Escalators, dat hetzelfde effect heeft alsof je in een lift zou staan nadat je net een zak magische paddenstoelen naar binnen hebt gewerkt. Neen, maak je geen zorgen, we hebben het tot dusver zelf nog niet geprobeerd, maar het is wel al de derde keer dat we op één avond dit schijfje in onze cd-speler hebben geduwd. Het heeft dus toch iets met paddenstoelen te maken: verslavend!
 

 

Didier BECU
15/09/2015


 

Next reviews
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
TEARS FOR FEARS • The Hurting
GLENN KETELEER (RADICAL G.) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
C-LEKKTOR • 'Radioakktivity' EP
SCHMUTZ • Lipservice
THE TRAIN SET • Never California
NO MORE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night