tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

STAR INDUSTRY

Renegades

MusicCD
Gothic RockNew wave

[92/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
01/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We had to wait five years for some new material by Star Industry, which feels indeed like an eternity in the music industry. Last year they released the Eyline-EP, that was worldwide well received, and this month the full album Renegade is coming our way, produced by Tom Proost.

Eyline opens the album and is followed by Driven, that can be easily described as a typical Star Industry-song; recognisable guitars, the voice of Peter Beckers that is similar to the one of Andrew Eldritch, a nice refrain and female vocals that give the song some extra colour. A real contrast is Selling Icons, that has a nice piano interlude.

Something totally different is Revelation, that has some electro and industrial influences like we know from Gary Numan. Renegade starts with angelic female vocals, but soon synths and a sing-a-long chorus are added. Dark Rain is definitely inspired by the 80’s, while Reign On Fire has that typical The Sisters Of Mercy-feel, albeit in a positive way. An ideal choice for a next song would be Shiver, that is electro like we know from Depeche Mode or Clan Of Xymox.

It graces Star Industry that they have recorded their songs in the most simple way, and that works. For devoted fans there is a limited edition with a second CD that features stuff like clubmixes from Eyline, Kids (the MGMT-song), The walk (The Cure) or Nineties.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


NL

Het was vijf jaar wachten op nieuw werk van Star Industry, wat bijna een eeuwigheid in de muziekindustrie is. Eind vorig jaar kwam de EP Eyline uit die overal goed werd ontvangen.Normaal, want het is een prima club- en radionummer. En in maart komt Renegade uit, dat door Tom Proost (o.a. de vaste livemixer van Raymond Van Het Groenewoud) is geproduceerd.

Na het bekende Eyline als opener, krijgen we met Driven een typisch Star Industry nummer: een herkenbare gitaar, de stem van Peter Beckers die wat naar Andrew Eldritch neigt, een vlot refrein en vrouwelijke vocals die het nummer wat extra kleur geven. Selling Icons vormt met zijn pianoriedel een mooi contrast met het eerder donker en bombastisch nummer.

Revelation heeft wat electro en industrial invloeden zoals Gary Numan die soms ook wel gebruikt. Renegade begint met een engelachtige vrouwengezang, maar krijgt daarna naast synthwerk, een meezingbaar refrein met middenin zelfs een orgelstukje.

Dark Rain heeft een duidelijke jaren tachtig-gevoel: een recht toe recht aan nummer met een heel herkenbare melodie. New Religion werkt weer met samples van vrouwelijke stemmen. Reign On Fire begint als een zwaar rocknummer, The Sisters Of Mercy klinken hier opnieuw een beetje om de hoek, maar op een positieve manier.

Shiver begint als een electrosong in de stijl van Depeche Mode of Clan Of Xymox: de manier waarop Peter zingt geeft een mooie sfeer aan het nummer. Echt een ideale keuze voor een volgende single.

Wat opvalt aan het album is dat er geen overbodige franjes aan de nummers zijn toegevoegd, en dat werkt. Star Industry is terug en hoe!

Voor de grote fans is er ook nog de limited edition met een tweede cd die (club)mixen van o.a. Eyline, Kids (van de band MGMT), The walk (The Cure) of Nineties bevat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/03/2015


01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades 01/03/2015 : STAR INDUSTRY - Renegades

 

Next reviews
JACQUES TOURNEUR • The Comedy Of Terrors
PAUL WELLER • White Sky
PABLO BERGER • Blancanieves
• Leonard Nimoy - The Death of Another Icon
THE LILAC TIME • No Sad Songs
RAPHAEL FRYDMAN • N'importe qui
JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI • What We Do In The Shadows
CASEY LA SCALA • The Remaining
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Broken Window Theory
MARTIN CALLINGHAM • Folding

 

Other reviews from STAR INDUSTRY
STAR INDUSTRY • Eilyne

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + NEW WAVE
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • Slumber

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings