tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija

STILES WHITE

Ouija

Movie

Universal Pictures
17/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It’s probably the genius of James Wan, but even if the man is having more fun with speedy cars in The Fast & The Furious these days, he created a huge boom in the horror genre. Suddenly horror movies stayed longer in the cinema halls than just one week. And yes, Ouija was another winner! During the opening weekend the movie got a box office of twenty million dollars, which is quite a huge number for this kind of production. Once you've seen the film, it is clear why the young audience found its way to the movie palaces. Director Stiles White, who is best known for creating special effects for blockbusters like The Sixth Sense or Jurassic Park III, chose for his film debut a film concept that is somewhere between a smooth teen movie and modern horror. Or if you want a similar example: a bit like Scream.

Viewers who just want to see blood, better don't start this DVD, because in this film the scary effects (a slamming door), are doing the tricks. So, extinguish all the lights in the living room if you put this film in your DVD player and enjoy the journey of four teenagers who tempt fate by raising spirits with an Ouija board. The experiment starts pure out of curiosity, because the young people want to get in touch with Debbie, a girl who hung herself. But, as it often happens in horror films, nothing is as it seems and Debbie’s death has something to do with the diabolical game board.

Ouija is certainly not a masterpiece, and probably a bit too light for fans of the bloody work, but thanks to the great performances, you never get bored. It is of course all a bit predictable and you've seen it before, but that is just rife in the horror genre. Stiles White is certainly not the new Wan, but he certainly doesn’t have to be ashamed for this debut.

Didier BECU
17/08/2015


NL

Waarschijnlijk zit James Wan er voor iets tussen. En ook al amuseert de man zich tegenwoordig meer met autootjes in The Fast & The Furious, zorgde hij voor een immense boom in het horrorgenre waardoor bibberprenten meer dan een week op de bioscoopaffiche bleven staan. Tot spijt van wie het benijdt was het ook bingo voor Ouija. Tijdens het openingsweekend alleen al rijfde men meer dan twintig miljoen dollar binnen en dat is voor een goedkope productie als Ouija toch een meevaller van jewelste. Eens je de film hebt gezien, is het duidelijk waarom het jonge publiek de weg naar de pluchen filmpaleizen vond. Regisseur Stiles White, die vooral bekend is voor het creëren van special effects voor blockbusters als The Sixth Sense of Jurassic Park III, koos voor zijn filmdebuut een filmconcept dat zich ergens tussen een vlotte tienerfilm en moderne horror bevindt. Of als je het liever met een voorbeeld wil horen: een beetje zoals Scream.

Kijkers die alleen maar bloed op de buis willen, moeten er niet aan beginnen, want in deze film zijn het de schrikeffecten (gewoon een dichtslaande deur) die het werk leveren. Doof dus alle lichten in de huiskamer als je de film in de lader stopt en laat je meeslepen door vier tieners die het lot tarten door geesten op te roepen met een ouija-bord. Het experiment begint uit pure nieuwsgierigheid omdat de jongeren contact zoeken met Debbie, een meisje dat zich heeft verhangen. Maar, zoals dat vaak gaat in horrorfilms, is niets wat het lijkt en heeft de dood van Debbie iets met het duivelse spelbord te maken.

Ouija is zeker geen meesterwerk en waarschijnlijk net iets te licht voor de fans van het bloederige bibberwerk, maar dankzij de prima vertolkingen, verveel je je gelukkig geen seconde. Het is natuurlijk allemaal wat voorspelbaar en je hebt het al vaker gezien, maar dat is nu eenmaal schering en inslag in het horrorgenre. Stiles White is zeker geen Wan, maar voor Ouija moet hij zich zeker niet schamen.

Didier BECU
17/08/2015


17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija 17/08/2015 : STILES WHITE - Ouija

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My