tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/05/2018 : STRUCK9 - Ritual Body Music

STRUCK9

Ritual Body Music

MusicCD
EBMElectro

[74/100]   

EKproduct
07/05/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Colombian, Struck9, storms us with 12 power-EBM tracks of the purest kind with their latest product: Ritual Body Music. Rarely an album title has been presented that covers the content so well. The dynamic, irresistible dance-seducing mix of old and newer EBM influences lasts 12 songs. Mid and up tempo rhythms, sequencing, samplers, laced with synths offer something for every electro head. EBM is not dead, that's for sure!

‘Ritual Body Music’ immediately urges dancing. Tight rhythm and an infectious melody, nothing more to it but still oh so effective. The characteristic EBM feeling is carefully infused and opens-up completely on the second song, ‘Execute’. Harsh cut old-school EBM albeit that the vocal line makes it sound softer. Halfway through the song, the buttons of electronic timelessness are definitely switched. Towards the end I can even sense a touch of new beat. And where did that style ever arise again....

‘Interconnected’ contains as many styles as are conceivable within the dance-loving electro scene. Old-school was also on the menu, right? ‘Bodytemple’, rough short melodies that attack your body temple with fairly strong punches. And while we are at it, why not one more on top with ‘Zero Day’, although some ingredients from EDM are added.

No matter how simple the rhythms are and how limited the sound spectrum in old school EBM may seem, ‘Kapital’ sounds as hard as it gets! Just like the Ramones stuffed countless CDs with songs built around 10 guitar chords, with endless variation, I have the same feeling here. ‘Resist’ grumbles happily and with ‘No Fracking U.S.A’. we are treated again with a combination of cork-dry EBM with great sounding synths that make their way through the drumming violence. 999MB is carved from different stone and sounds a bit more contemporary. Slightly more polished and braver than the previous tracks but who cares after all we have got already? Ditto for Peace that is more kinda synth-wave / synth-pop is in shape.

We are lead out with two remixes: Autodafeh had a go on ‘Zero Day’ and Atropine made a remix of ‘Execute TX81Z Overkill’.

A varied and balanced album by these Colombians, maybe without real highlights but still very enjoyable and danceable.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/05/2018


NL

Het Colombiaanse Struck9 bestormt je met 12 power-EBM-tracks van de zuiverste soort met hun nieuwste product: Ritual Body Music. Zelden een albumtitel voorgeschoteld gekregen die zo goed de lading dekt. De dynamische, onweerstaanbaar tot dansen verleidende mix van old- en nieuwere EBM-invloeden, duurt 12 songs lang. Mid- en uptempo-ritmes, sequencing, samplers, doorspekt met synths bieden elke electro-liefhebber wel iets. EBM is not dead, dat is zeker…

Ritual Body Music maant meteen aan tot dansen. Strakke ritmiek en een aanstekelijke melodie, meer heeft het niet om het lijf, maar o zo puntig. Het karakteristieke korte EBM-gevoel zit er voorzichtig in. En dat komt er op song twee, Execute, volledig uit. Snoeidroge old-school EBM, zij het dat de zanglijn het iets softer laat klinken. Halfweg de song worden de knopjes van de elektronische tijdloosheid massaal geswitcht. En zowaar naar het einde toe ontwaar ik een vleugje new beat. En waar ontstond dat ooit weer ….

Interconnected bevat evenveel stijlen als denkbaar binnen het dansminnende electrogeweld. Old-school stond ook op het menu.. jawel: Bodytemple. Een heel ruwe korte melodie die met vrij stevige stoten je tempel van een body te lijf gaat. En nu het toch vlotjes loopt, nog ééntje erbovenop met Zero Day, hoewel daar ingrediënten uit EDM worden toegevoegd.
Hoe eenvoudig de ritmes ook zijn en hoe beperkt het arsenaal klanken in old school ook lijkt, toch klinkt Kapital snoeihard. Zoals de Ramones talloze CD’s volstouwden met songs opgebouwd rond 10 gitaarakkoorden, met een eindeloze variatie, heb ik hier hetzelfde gevoel. Resist dreunt vrolijk verder en met No Fracking U.S.A. worden we getrakteerd op een combinatie van kurkdroge EBM met geweldige synths die zich een weg banen door het drumgeweld.
999MB is uit ander steen gehouwen, en meer hedendaags van toon. Iets meer gepolijst en braver dan de voorgaande nummers, maar wie maalt daar nu om? Idem voor Peace dat synthwave/synthpop van gedaante is.

We worden uitgeleide gedaan met twee remixes: Autodafeh leefde zich uit met een remix van Zero Day en Atropine maakte een remix van Execute TX81Z Overkill.

Een gevarieerd en uitgebalanceerd album van het Columbiaanse gezelschap, zonder echte uitschieters, maar genietbaar en dansbaar over de gehele lijn.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
07/05/2018


 

Next reviews
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
DER HAUPTMANN • (2017) German-Polish-French biographical drama, black & white, directed by Robert Schwentke based on true facts.
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)

Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My