tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein

STUART BEATTIE

I, Frankenstein

Movie
Horror

[33/100]   

Splendid Films
14/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In the meantime it has become quite impossible to remember how many times the classic horror story by Mary Shelley from 1818 has been filmed. With I, Frankenstein from 2014 we can put another mark on the long list, but fact is that this version is miles away from the original concept. Director Stuart Beattie who was before a script writer (from Collateral till G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra) transformed the creature from Victor Frankenstein to our times.


Today the 200 year old monster is still alive. In fact, he can’t age and if you know that his body is made out of corpses he still looks pretty though. However, the living dead who is named Adam and performed by Aaron Eckhart hasn’t have the easiest times. The Demons that are led by Naberius (Bill Nighy) are chasing him as they’re after a soulless body. Adam gets protection (or at least he thinks) from another sort of creatures: the Gargoyles who are under command of Queen Leonore (Miranda Otto). To make the story a bit more complicated, Adam is also hunted by the earthlings as they want to obtain the diary from Frankenstein in where he explains how he can awake the dead. At least he got the helping hand from scientist Terra (Yvonne Strahovski).


That’s in a nutshell the complicated story. Never mind if you don’t get the point of it. As after all, we guess that Aaron Eckhart won’t understand this nonsense either. Some might still believe that Eckhart is an upcoming talent, but if you look at his current choices, it’s more like he’s already on his retour. And by the way, his performance in here isn’t exactly brilliant either. The producers do everything to let you believe that I, Frankenstein is in the tradition of Underworld and Van Helsing. But that’s not true. The sole thing these pictures have in common is that they own some extraordinary CG-effects, even if they can be boring after a while. Beattie tries to create a gothic atmosphere, but doesn’t succeed one second. What’s left is a visual spectacle that looks like a hip game. That can be a beautiful, but has nothing to do with cinema. I guess this is stuff for brainless teens who are on drugs.

I, Frankenstein is out on Splendid Films on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
14/06/2014


NL

Het is onderwijl een onmogelijke taak geworden om nog uit te vissen hoe veel keer de griezelklassieker Frankenstein van Mary Shelley uit 1818 in een filmversie werd gegoten. Met deze I, Frankenstein uit 2014 zetten we daar nog maar eens een streepje bij, alhoewel deze prent mijlenver van het oorspronkelijke verhaal staat. Regisseur Stuart Beattie die voorheen vooral furore als scenarioschrijver maakte (van Collateral tot G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra) heeft het creatuur van Victor Frankenstein immers naar onze tijd getransformeerd.


Het ondertussen bijna 200-jarige monster is nog altijd springlevend. Hij kan nooit ouder worden en ziet er voor een samenraapsel van allerlei lijken nog opperbest uit. Wel heeft de levende dode (die men gemakshalve Adam heeft genoemd en vertolkt wordt door Aaron Eckhart) nooit op zijn lauweren kunnen rusten. De Demons die door Naberius (Bill Nighy) worden geleid maken jacht op de man, zij zijn op zoek naar een zielloos lichaam. Adam krijgt bescherming (of ten minste dat denkt hij toch) van een ander soort wezens: de Gargoyles die op hun beurt onder leiding van Queen Leonore (Miranda Otto) staan. Om het hele verhaal nog wat ingewikkelder te maken kan hij ook de gewone mens niet vertrouwen omdat die het dagboek van de geleerde Frankenstein in handen willen krijgen. Gelukkig krijgt Adam wel de hulp van wetenschapster Terra (Yvonne Strahovski).


Tot zo ver het verschrikkelijk ingewikkelde, en vooral weinig interessante verhaal. Niets om je over te schamen als je er geen jota van snapt, want wellicht heeft ook Aaron Eckhart maar weinig van deze onzin begrepen. Sommige mogen dan wel bij hoog en laag dat Eckhart nog steeds een aanstormend talent is, als je zijn keuzes bekijkt lijkt het eerder een man op retour te zijn. Zijn prestatie is in deze film trouwens bedroevend. De producenten willen je wel doen geloven dat I, Frankenstein in de traditie van Underworld en Van Helsing ligt. Maar dat is niet zo. Het enige wat deze films bindt is dat de CG-effecten verbluffend (desalniettemin soms ook vervelend) zijn. De makers proberen een gothic sfeertje te scheppen, maar dat lukt geen seconde. Het enige wat overblijft is een visueel spektakel dat lijkt op dat van een hippe game. Dat kan misschien wel mooi zijn, maar heeft niets met cinema te maken. Wel voer voor gedrogeerde, hersenloze tieners.


I, Frankenstein is uit op Splendid Films en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
14/06/2014


14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
THE POGUES FEATURING KIRSTY MACCOLL
Fairytale Of New York
19
06
0KONTROL
Traitors
18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)