tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

26/06/2014 : SUMERIAN FLEET - Just Pressure

SUMERIAN FLEET

Just Pressure

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveElectroNew wave

[98/100]   

Dark Entries Records
26/06/2014, Peter TYLER

Sumerian Fleet is the band of Dutch producers Martijn Hoogendijk (Alden Tyrell) and Ingmar Pauli with vocalist Zarkoff. Both Alden Tyrell as Ingmar Pauli are well known within the electro/minimal techno dance scene ever since 1998/1999. Around 2009 they’ve joined hands to start this joined project, a visit to what’s their mutual roots : 80's New Wave and Industrial.
Inspired by the sound of Fad Gadget, Invincible Limit, early Human League, The Neon Judgement, Portion Control, Dave Ball, and John Foxx … they’ve released their debut eponymous EP on Clone’s West Coast series in 2010 and the second “Sturm Bricht Los” EP came out in 2012 on the Creme Eclipse branch of Creme Organization with “Just Pressure”.

Both releases have already become much sought after collector’s items and this didn’t remained unnoticed at Dark Entries Records and so today their first full length album is a fact.. and at this moment it’s the best new album I’ve heard this year.. The proof once more “Wave” didn’t die somewhere in the nineties
Perhaps it’s a pity the songs of the first two releases aren’t on this album with the exception of “Just Pressure” which appears here in a more extended new version but this album is all new material recorded between 2013 and 2014. 

I could review each song separately but at the other hand it would all come down to awesome, excellent, danceable, and comparisons with the bands mentioned above.

So don’t hesitate.. discover this band, this album, and you will get addicted to each song just like I did.

 

1. Just Pressure

2. On To You

3. Unfulfilled Desire

4. Gone for Good

5. Orbiting

6. Nebelwerfer

7. Dirty Water

8. Patient #7

9. 2047

Peter TYLER
26/06/2014


 

Next reviews
COSMIC ARMCHAIR • We Are Watching
DESTIN CRETTON • Short Term 12
TREE OF WOLVES • Half Light
DAVID & ALBERT MAYSLES, CHARLOTTE ZWERIN • Gimme Shelter
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Ecencia
C. COURTNEY JOYNER • Lurking Fear
IGGY POP • Classics: The Idiot
GUILLAUME CANET • Blood ties
VINTERSOG • Naturbål
SLEEP PARTY PEOPLE • Floating

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + ELECTRO + NEW WAVE
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn