tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore

TANGO MANGALORE

Dear Shore

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveDeath Rock / BatcaveHorror

[85/100]   

Fabrika Records
08/03/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

The spooky sailor and Greek weirdo Tango Mangalore is back with a third album, this time released by one of the best Darkwave labels out there, Fabrika Records (home to Selofan, She Past Away, and many more). Dear Shore comes after two fantastic previous albums, Comandante Macabro and the super weird Contra Los Vampiros Y Hombre Lobo Discoteca (a collaboration with Doctor Mutanto), and in a way, it completes those two records, like a collection of scary stories for children.

However, Dear Shore is also the most serious Tango Mangaore album to date. The spooky playfulness is still there, a trait that links it to the beloved Deathrock Revival scene from the early 2000s, only now it's gotten darker, more menacing than ever. The vocal performance is straightforward and powerful, sometimes almost bluesy but without losing any of its dramatic and uncomfortable quality. The album is kinda Coldwave rhythmically speaking but completely different in terms of sound, vocals and of the overall atmosphere it conveys. Songs like "Momentum" or the title track "Dear Shore" are good examples of this. It's like a Deathrock album that's built around the keyboards, and with no guitars whatsoever.

Tango Mangalore is an artist who, being aware of the entire Goth/Darkwave tradition, chooses to do something completely personal and original with it. On this album, available through the Fabrika Records webstore, he has managed to create the musical equivalent of reading a nice collection of William Hope Hodgson's maritime ghost stories. Delightfully dark stuff.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
08/03/2018


08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore 08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore 08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party