tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem

TERRY GILIAM

The Zero Theorem

Movie
Science Fiction

[45/100]   

A-Film
02/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You probably agree that Terry Gilliam is one of the most visionary artists of the past decades, unfortunately things are not going well for the Monty Phyton man. In better times the press (and the public) stood in the first row when a new work was released, but now his films do not even get to the big screen. After The Imaginarium of Dr.Parnassus became another financial blunder, it was difficult to find producers who dared to work with Gilliam. Those who did will probably regret it because, despite a star cast, The Zero Theorem was mercilessly released on the DVD market. We would happily blame the audience, as we simply love the genius that gave us beauty with 12 Monkeys and Brazil, but the truth is that The Zero Theorem is anything but a good movie.

After half an hour you realize having seen something special, but it is difficult to define the meaning or goal of the confusing (and pretty disappointing) scenario. Gilliam is nonetheless a visual master, and even though he had to work with (to his standards) a ridiculous budget, the decors are again impressive.

Qohen Leth (Christoph Waltz) works for Mancom, but he actually does not know what he is doing. No one puts the question, people are happy with their existence and are especially excited about the gadgets that make their life happier. Qohen wants to discover the meaning of it all, it all comes down to the fact that life has no meaning at all (hence the title).

Gilliam uses big words for simply saying that this life is meaningless. We are not created for a higher purpose, our earthly existence is as useless (or if you like, useful) as that of, say, a mosquito. Just as he did in his earlier films, Gilliam mocks humanity, addicted to advertising and luxury goods, but it just does not have the same effect as before. Unlike Brazil and Twelve Monkeys (these two form a trilogy with The Zero Theorem) the film lacks a real scenario. The only one who saves this film is Christoph Waltz, for the rest The Zero Theorem is no more than the painful realization that the best days of Gilliam seem to be over.

The Zero Theorem is out on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


NL

Niemand zal je tegenspreken als je beweert dat Terry Gilliam één van de meest visionaire kunstenaars van de afgelopen decennia is. Helaas gaat het niet goed met de Monty Phyton-man. Vroeger stond de pers (en het publiek) op de eerste rij als hij een nieuw werk uitbracht, maar tegenwoordig halen zijn films niet eens het witte doek. Nadat The Imaginarium of Dr.Parnassus de zoveelste financiële uitschuiver was, werd het moeilijk om nog producenten te vinden die het aandurfden om met Gilliam in zee te gaan. Degenen die dat wel deden zullen het zich wellicht beklagen, want ondanks een sterrencast werd The Zero Theorem genadeloos op de dvd-markt gedropt. We zouden met plezier de schuld op de filmkijker schuiven, al was het maar omdat we zo veel respect hebben voor het genie dat ons leven met 12 Monkeys en Brazil aangenamer maakte, maar de waarheid is dat The Zero Theorem een allesbehalve goede film is.

Na anderhalf uur besef je dat je naar iets aparts heb gekeken, alleen is het moeilijk om te verwoorden wat je hebt geleerd uit het verwarrende (en vrij ontgoochelende scenario). Gilliam blijft natuurlijk een visuele meester, en ook al moest hij met een (naar zijn normen) vrij belachelijk budget werken, zijn de decors wederom indrukwekkend.

Qohen Leth (Christoph Waltz) werkt voor Mancom, maar eigenlijk weet hij niet waarmee hij bezig is. Niemand stelt zich die vraag, de mensen zijn gelukkig met hun bestaan en vooral opgetogen over alle gadgets die het leven gelukkiger maken. Qohen gaat op zoek naar de zin van dit alles, het komt er eigenlijk op neer dat het leven gewoon geen betekenis heeft (vandaar de titel).

Gilliam heeft enorm grote woorden nodig om ons gewoon te zeggen dat dit leven zinloos is. We hopen het wel, maar we zijn niet geschapen voor een hoger doel, ons aardse bestaan is even nutteloos (of zo je wil, nuttig) als dat van pakweg een mug. Net zoals in zijn eerdere films spot Gilliam met de mensheid,verslaafd aan reclame en luxe goederen, alleen heeft het allemaal niet zo veel effect meer als vroeger. Het ontbreekt de film aan een echt scenario, waar Brazil en Twelve Monkeys (deze twee vormen samen met The Zero Theorem een trilogie) niet onder leden. De enige die deze film nog enigszins tot een aanvaardbaar niveau opdrijft is Christoph Waltz, voor de rest is The Zero Theorem niet meer dan het pijnlijke besef dat we ooit (weliswaar in een ver verleden) uitkeken naar de nieuwste Gilliam, nu lijkt het eerder een martelgang op de pijnbank.

The Zero Theorem is uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem 02/12/2014 : TERRY GILIAM - The Zero Theorem

Music reviews

05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!
02
05
43 years 'United'! TG's debut single!
01
05
Dark Ambient Act LONG THE NIGHT Reveals The Ominous & Melancholic Illusion
30
04
Dark Ambient Act IN THE ABSENCE OF WORDS Reveals Their Compilation, A Collection I

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night
01
05
BOYTRONIC
Time After Midnight
30
04
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
God Is Dead
29
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated