tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/03/2015 : TEXAS - Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

TEXAS

Texas 25: The Truth & Soul Sessions

MusicCD
PopSoul

[77/100]   

PIAS
17/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Texas exists 25 years and to celebrate that event, it has have released The Truth & Soul Sessions, that features some new and different versions from their well-known classics. And of course, because loyal fans would buy this release too, they added four new songs. Marketing wise indeed what you call a smart idea.

Texas started 25 years ago as a rock band (Southside), but developed more to a popband with Motown and soul influences (White On Blonde). This album kind of refers to the period of that song. It has not become a complete summary of their career, as you won’t find any tracks from Mothers Heaven or Rick’s Road here. A pity, as I would love to hear a song like So Called Friends with a soul arrangement. Don’ t expect big changes as the new versions are reminiscent to the originals, but it is interesting to hear classics like Summer Son or I Don’t Want A Lover in such a version.

And then there are the new songs. In the meantime you can hear Start A Family day in day out on the radio. Also Supafly Boy deserves its place on this album. Say Goodbye is an atmospheric tearjerker, while Are You Ready is a popsong with some good qualities.

The album does not give a complete picture of their career, but it surely shows what the band is doing these days or which direction it is heading for. And of course, there is still that irresistible voice of Spiteri!

· CD1 / LP
· THE TRUTH & SOUL SESSIONS

· 1.Start A Family
· 2. Black Eyed Boy
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Supafly Boy
· 5. Halo
· 6. Inner Smile
· 7. The Conversation
· 8. Say Goodbye
· 9. When We Are Together
· 10. Are You Ready
· 11. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 12. Summer Son

· CD 2 (Deluxe Edition)

· 1. I Don’t Want A Lover
· 2. Everyday Now
· 3. Say What You Want
· 4. Halo
· 5. Black Eyed Boy
· 6. Put Your Arms Around Me
· 7. Summer Son
· 8. When We Are Together
· 9. In Our Lifetime
· 10. In Demand
· 11. Inner Smile
· 12. Sleep
· 13. Say What You Want (All Day Every Day)
· 14. The Conversation
· 15. Detroit City

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


NL

Texas viert dit jaar z'n 25 jaar bestaan, en via The Truth & Soul Sessions werden enkele van hun klassiekers opnieuw opgenomen. Om fans die alles al in huis hebben toch tot deze aankoop te verleiden, zijn er enkele nieuwe nummers toegevoegd.

Texas startte jaren geleden als een poprockband (Southside) en evolueerde langzaam aan naar een popband met Motown invloeden (White on Blonde), een geluid dat je ook op deze cd hoort.

The Truth & Soul Sessions is zeker geen overzicht van hun volledige carrière geworden, zo vind je bijv. geen nummers van Rick’s Road of Mothers Heaven op deze compilatie terug. Jammer, ik had best wel eens een nummer als So called Friends in een soulkleedje willen horen. Nu ja, grote veranderingen moet je niet verwachten, want de nummers leunen heel dicht tegen het origineel aan. Toch blijft het interessant om klassiekers zoals Summer Son en I Don’ t Want a Lover in deze versies te horen, vooral die laatste is een geslaagde herwerking.

En dan zijn er de nieuwe songs: Start A Family is ondertussen al grijs gedraaid op de radio. Supafly Boy is een aanstekelijk nummer dat zijn plaats tussen de rest verdient. Say Goodbye is eerder een vakkundige, sfeervolle tearjerker, terwijl Are You Ready er als popnummer best mag zijn.

Dit album is al bij al geslaagd, met minstens twee leuke nieuwe nummers en een paar leuke bewerkingen. Het album geeft wel geen volledig beeld van hun discografie weer, en alhoewel dat jammer is, toont The Truth & Soul Sessions wel waarmee Texas vandaag bezig is. En jawel, Spiteris stem klinkt nog altijd als een klok.

De tracks vind je in het Engelse gedeelte.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/03/2015


Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)