tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

THE AGONIST

Five

MusicCD
Extreme MetalMelodic RockMetalcore

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the second album with the singer Vicky Psarakis and it can not be denied that her vocals of Vicky bring more variation to the music of The Agonist. Five incidentally comes just over a year after Eyes of Providence. But to further inform about the variations: the album still contains aggressive and harder songs, but it contains also tracks that highlight a different side. I' m thinking in particular of The Raven Eyes, a song that floats on an acoustic guitar and sparse piano sounds and in which Vicky shows to be able to cope with different nuances and styles. A strong track.

The same goes for The Moment, although it is a rather mediocre and predictable song. Anyone who might thinks that the album is a semi-soft boiled egg, is mistaken. Tracks such as The Chain, The Resurrection and The Villain are nasty metal songs. And some tracks sound more moderate. The album ends with the bonus track Take Me To Church by Hozier. A very compelling track with an Agonist touch. Nicely done and very daring.

Five is a firm album with enough variation and punch. Singer Vicky Psarakis takes the songs to a higher level. Wondering how all this sounds when played live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Dit is het tweede album met zangeres Vicky Psarakis en men kan niet ontkennen dat haar vocals meer variatie in de muziek van The Agonist brengen. Five komt overigens slechts een dik jaar na Eyes of Providence uit. Maar om over die variatie door te gaan: het album bevat nog steeds de agressie en hardere songs die we van deze band gewoon zijn. Daarnaast staan er ook tracks op het album die een andere kant tonen. Ik denk dan in het bijzonder aan The Raven Eyes, een song dat drijft op een akoestische gitaar en wat spaarzame piano. Hier toont Vicky dat ze met haar stem heel wat nuances en stijlen aankan. Een sterke track.

Hetzelfde geldt voor The Moment dat eerder een middelmatige en voorspelbare song is. Wie denkt dat het album een halfzacht gekookt eitje is, vergist zich evenwel. Tracks zoals The Chain, The Resurrection en The Villain zijn gemene metalsongs. Daarnaast zijn er ook nog enkele tracks die iets gematigder klinken. Als afsluiter en bonus waagt deze band zich aan Take Me To Church van Hozier. Het is een erg meeslepende track die een degelijke Agonist-touch heeft gekregen. Mooi gedaan en vooral gedurfd.

The Agonist levert met Five een ferm album af met voldoende variatie en punch. Zangeres Vicky Psarakis tilt de songs naar een hoger niveau. Benieuwd hoe dit alles live klinkt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five 11/12/2016 : THE AGONIST - Five

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
06
CARBON MARTYR Addresses Mankind & Technology With Debut Album
11
06
Darkwave Duo Band HANGING FREUD Speaks Of Loss And Transformation with 'Persona Normal'
11
06
30 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
30 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 43 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
11
06
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
11
06
PATIENCE
The Church (Night School, 2016)
10
06
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
09
06
FAUNA TWIN
Water On Mars
08
06
PERSEPHONE
Downfall
07
06
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling