tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/10/2015 : THE BRITISH IBM - Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

THE BRITISH IBM

Psychopaths Dream In Black And White

MusicCD
IndiePop

[72/100]   

PDP8 Records
28/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

And now time for sugar-sweet indie pop, albeit full of sarcastic lyrics. With a band’s name like The British IBM, you might expect some Kraftwerk-like beats coming out your speakers, but that’s not the case. This band is just a guy from Cambridge who is obsessed with computers, Adrian Killens even released a single once on a floppy disk, which in times when music is brought by you through an USB flash, is not silly at all.

Aidy describes his music as lo-fi, inspired by Guided By Voices and Weezer, we ourselves thought (perhaps because of the romantic frame) more of Belle & Sebastian and The Magnetic Fields, which isn’t bad either!

Along with a whole host of guest musicians (you even hear a cello and a bassoon), The British IBM (the musical pseudonym of Aidy) just released a second album with the notable (and insane) title Psyhopaths Dream In Black And White. The eleven songs have a cheerful undertone, but if you listen carefully, you’ll discover the black sarcasm of say Babybird. Some will label The British IBM as art rock, some will say it’s geek pop and then again, others will categorize it as intelligent bedroom pop. And why not, nobody ever thought that White Town once would conquer the world, maybe The British IBM can do it too.

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


NL

En dan is het nu tijd voor zeemzoete indiepop, weliswaar vol sarcastische teksten. Bij een groepsnaam zoals The British IBM, zou je misschien verwachten dat er allerlei Kraftwerkachtige beats uit je speakers komen, maar niets is minder waar. Het gaat gewoon om een kerel uit Cambridge die bezeten is door computers, Adrian Killens bracht zelfs ooit een single op een floppy disk uit, wat in tijden waarin muziek op een USB-stick wordt aangeboden, niet eens zo gek klinkt.

Aidy omschrijft zijn muziek wel als lo-fi die geïnspireerd is door Guided By Voices en Weezer, zelf dachten we eerder (wellicht door de romantische omkadering) aan Belle & Sebastian of The Magnetic Fields. Het blijft een vreemde gedachte, maar Aidys stem klinkt als die van Sam Valkenborgh van Fixkes (en we laten in het midden of dat nu een voor- of nadeel is).

Samen met een hele resem gastmuzikanten (je hoort zelfs een cello en een fagot) heeft The British IBM (het muzikale pseudoniem van Aidy) net een tweede plaat uit met de opmerkelijke (krankzinnige) titel Psyhopaths Dream In Black And White. De elf nummers hebben een vrolijke ondertoon, maar wie goed luistert, zal het zwart sarcasme van bijv. pakweg Baby Bird erin ontdekken. Sommigen zullen The British IBM als artrock bestempelen, anderen dan weer als geekpop en wie weet denkt er wel iemand dat het intelligente bedroompop is. En waarom niet, niemand die ooit dacht dat White Town de wereld zou veroveren, misschien doet The British IBM dat ook ooit. 

Didier BECU
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SIX COMM • Fleischmaschine
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
PONY PONY RUN RUN • Voyage Voyage
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
ROVER • Let It Glow
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
FEVER THE GHOST • 1518
HAPPYNESS • It's On
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret