tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/02/2015 : THE CHARLATANS - Modern Nature

THE CHARLATANS

Modern Nature

MusicCD
IndiePsychedelic

[90/100]   

BMG
23/02/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Every so often, an established band goes through turmoil to transcend its fortunes and make it through to the other side, whatever that happens to be. Without recounting The Charlatans ill fortunes again and again, Modern Nature is a considerable triumph over recent adversity, a second coming of sorts and an album that delivers on so many levels, it's like listening to the debut of your favourite new band. And this from an outfit fronted by a man approaching his half century and still at the (Tim) peaks of his powers.

The album kicks off with what sounds like a classic of our times, the woozy psych-pop of Talking In Tones, before proceeding to knock your socks off with at least five straight-away bangers. In another world, So Oh would be soundtracking pre-club dressing-up, long journeys to the beach or huddles by a wood-burning stove, a resplendent jaunt through harmonic indie-pop and reflective psychedelia. But then so would pretty much most of this striking return to form.

With the possible exception of Emilie, a somewhat lightweight slice of indie-fluff, Modern Nature is almost flawless both musically and delivery. Take the moody yet confident swagger of I Need You To Know, one of the many highlights - despite sounding remotely like New Order's Truth, which in itself is as far from a party tune as you could wish to be, The Charlatans successfully take solemnity to another level by making the whole four minutes resemble some kind of epiphany.

And that's Modern Nature for you. Bar one track, it's like listening to a greatest hits or a hand-picked singles collection. Very, very impressive indeed.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
23/02/2015


 

Next reviews
ALISON MOYET • The Minutes Tour (Antwerpen, Arenbergschouwburg, 21/02/2015)
SAINT SAVIOUR • In the Seams
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo
JORAM LURSEN • Bloedlink
CRACKER • Berkeley to Bakersfield:
WALTER HILL • The Driver
STOCKHOLM MONSTERS • All At Once
ROBERT STROMBERG • Maleficent
PHILIP GLASS • Akhnaten (Antwerpen, Vlaamse Opera, 17/02/2015)
CIVILIAN • The Second

 

Other reviews from THE CHARLATANS
THE CHARLATANS • Talking In Tones

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PRIMAL SCREAM • Chaosmosis
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
KARAWANE • Karawane
DOUBLE VETERANS • Space Age Voyeurism

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour