tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

THE GODFATHERS

Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Concert
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Do you remember The Godfathers? The band regularly performed in Europe and scored the big hit Birth School Work Death. However, most of us don't know that it is still alive and kicking, and that a new album was released three years ago. I was curious to see them on stage. Especially as I, strange but true, never got the chance to see The Gotfathers live.

Beuk from Bruges was the support act: garage rock with Dutch lyrics, performed in a good and decent way, and always with a twist or some irony. Short and powerful music which was appreciated by the audience. Innovative? Not really, but fun to see this band on stage. We were told that a new album is in the making.

The Godfathers started with Cause I Said So. The band is still sharp and hungry. The singer has a nonchalant attitude, but on stage the company looks like a real band. "It's rock 'n roll mate" were the words he used in between songs and that is what we got: pure garage rock.

In addition to well-known songs like How Low is Low, Unreal World, a magisterial When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, less well-known songs of the latest album Jukebox Fury and the debut Hit By Hit were played: The Outsider, This Damn Nation. The new single Till My Heart Stops Beating sounded live pretty good.

The Fodfathers returned for three encores including Birth, School, Work, Death. The band is a rock machine and will never be as mainstream as during Birth School Work Death, but live the Godfathers definitely are still relevant, and less polished as back then. When I saw the smiling audience afterwards, I knew I was not the only one who enjoyed it.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Waarschijnlijk herinneren zich heel wat lezers The Godfathers nog. Het gezelschap trad hier regelmatig op en had natuurlijk ook die grote hit Birth School Work Death. Velen weten wellicht niet dat The Godfathers vandaag nog altijd alive and kicking zijn en dat er drie jaar geleden nog een album verscheen. Ik was dan ook benieuwd om de band aan het werk te zien. Vooral omdat ik daartoe, raar maar waar, destijds nooit de kans heb gekregen.

Beuk uit Brugge was het voorprogramma. Het brengt Nederlandstalige garagerock. en doet dat goed en degelijk, altijd met een twist of een ironische ondertoon. Kort en bondige muziek die door het talrijk opgekomen publiek werd geapprecieerd. Vernieuwend? Niet echt, maar wel leuk om live bezig te zien. En we vernamen dat er aan een album wordt gewerkt.

The Godfathers startten met Cause I Said So. Het was meteen duidelijk dat hier nog altijd een vinnige en hongerige band op het podium staat. De zanger heeft altijd wel een nonchalante houding gehad, toch straalt de band echtheid uit. “It’s rock ' roll mate” was een van zijn bindteksten en dat was het. Bijna pure garagerock. Naast bekende songs als How Low is Low, Unreal World, een magistrale When I Coming Down, She Gives Me Love, stonden ook minder bekende songs uit het laatste album Jukebox Fury en het debuut Hit By Hit op de setlist: The Outsider, This Damn Nation… Ook de nieuwe single Till My Heart Stops Beating werd gespeeld en die klonk live meer dan behoorlijk goed. The Goidfathers kwam terug voor drie bisnummers waaronder natuurlijk ook Birth, School, Work, Death.

The Godfathers is nog steeds een rockmachine. Mainstream zoals in tijden van Birth School Work Death zal de band wellicht niet meer worden, maar live is hij beslist nog relevant en iets minder gepolijst dan op de platen destijds. Als ik het publiek nadien zag, was ik niet de enige die ervan genoten had.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016) 08/12/2016 : THE GODFATHERS - Eernegem, B52 (23/03/2016)

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)