tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/03/2014 : THE GRAVIATORS - Motherload

THE GRAVIATORS

Motherload

MusicCD
DoomGaragerockHeavy MetalStonerock

[89/100]   

Napalm Records
18/03/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

After the release of their fantastic and critically acclaimed full length "Evil Deeds" and the split 7" with their label mates MONKEY3, THE GRAVIATORS return with their latest studio effort "Motherload". The brilliant vintage analog sound combines the Hard Rock of the Seventies with a good dose of Doom Metal and Stoner Rock with an occult vibe. The voice is a mix between the early Iron Maiden, Deep Purple and Black Sabbath. A great special bonus is the re-recording of "Druid´s Ritual", a classic from the band’s back catalogue. The song lasts for almost 14 minutes and is a show off at its brilliance (and is not boring at all, you just got it all in one package). "Motherload" is an impressive Doom Stoner Metal. Well, I didn't need to change much to the promo talk to make it my own. Normally I hate promo talk and look at it and think in the end it's all blablabla, but now it's simply hitting the spot!

I simply love the epic retreo sound, great guitars, great drums, great clean voice... a fine metal jewel!

some of my favorite tracks: 'Bed of Bitches' (nice title, love the voice in this one, great guitars and bass), 'Tigress of Siberia' (love the relance and the sound), 'Lost Lord' (the intro reminds me of some 70's Black Sabbath song, the name just slips away or can it be Deep Purple and am not directly referring to 'Smoke on the water' and there's also a little The Doors 'intermission'), 'Corpauthority' (great riffs, great sound, love the roaring guitars and changes in the tempo, just as the voice: in this one a bit more like the guy from Brainstorm) and the last song is also a great one (but I already said something about it)... time for more!

The interview

Filip VAN MUYLEM
18/03/2014


 

Next reviews
JOSH STOLBERG • The hungover games
SNOWBIRD • Moon / Luna
DITO MONTIEL • Empire State
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
PAUL GREENGRASS • Captain Phillips
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Hard Drugs & BDSM EP
LEE DANIELS • The Butler
VARIOUS ARTISTS • UNDERGROUND WAVE Volume 4
ALBERT & CHARLES BAND • Doctor Mordrid
VAN CANTO • Dawn of the Brave

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
Industrial Band SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! Unleashes New Full-Length Album, 'Feral'
16
06
Dark erotronics by Death Loves Veronica
15
06
ASCII-DISKO returns after 10 years of silence
15
06
Today it’s exactly 42 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Tanz Der Automaten now on vinyl!
13
06
American Gothrock-band Sonsombre launches 'Revival'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
17
06
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
16
06
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE)
Persona Non Grata
15
06
PURE GROUND
Second Skin
14
06
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
13
06
LISSA GARRED & JULES MAXWELL
Noyalain (Burn) (Official Video)
12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth