tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

THE GURU GURU

Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Concert
Noisepsychotic rockRock 18/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Wild Classical Ensemble is a band of people with disabilities. Because I am professionally involved, I was very curious to see these musicians on stage. There was even a camera crew of the Belgian TV that filmed a news item for an alternative rock music show.

Immediately it was clear that these guys wanted to play something different. Pure noise rock! And that’s a good thing! Each musician had his task. There was a prominent bass, while the singing was performed by three people. The star of that evening was definitely the guitarist who formed the backbone of the band with the drummer. At the end of the show, the audience gave The Wild Classical Ensemble the applause it deserved!

Then The Guru Guru came on stage, the Belgian band that released the excellent single Hole in the Ground and the split EP with Brutus at the end of last year.

The concert was build up in a perfect way. It started with Swimming Pool and Captain B. Then Syq Kum and Backdoor were played and these songs were the first highlight. Earlier, singer Tom Adriaenssens seemed to be a calm guy, but once on stage he simply was neurotic, without overacting. His stage behaviour fits perfectly with the music that is dominated by clever guitar work and a solid rhythm section. Gems that need to be mentioned: Click, Hole and a new song (I suspect the title is Defacts). Julia was played as the encore, the Brutus-track that was covered on the EP. After seeing these two excellent gigs, I can only include that my expectations became reality!

You still can see The Guru Guru in Belgium on these dates:
March 13 (Brussels, AB)
March 19 (Kortrijk, The Trap)
April 8 (Brugge, JH Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


NL

The Wild Classic Ensemble is een band die bestaat uit mensen met een beperking. Omdat ik daar beroepshalve ook bij betrokken ben, was ik uiterst nieuwsgierig hoe deze muzikanten hun muziek op het podium zouden brengen. Er was zelfs een Canvas-cameraploeg naar de 4AD afgezakt om een reportage te maken voor het puike rockprogramma Pop-O-Rama waarin vrij onbekende alternatieve bands de kans krijgen om zich te profileren.

Het viel meteen bij het begin op dat dit geen voor de hand liggende muziek zou worden. Mooi zo, kwestie van de vooroordelen wat te doorbreken. Elke muzikant had zijn taak en je merkte na verloop van tijd dat ieder van hun zijn plaats had. De bas werd geanimeerd door een mondige kerel, terwijl de zang werd afgewisseld door drie personen. De gitarist was muzikaal de sterkste en vormde samen met een begeleider (de drums) de ruggengraat van de band. Het was pure, ontwapende noiserock. Het publiek gaf ze dan ook een welgemeend applaus.

Daarna was het de beurt aan The Guru Guru, die eind vorig jaar de uitstekende single Hole In the Ground en de split-ep met Brutus uitbrachten..

Het concert was goed opgebouwd. Het begon met Swimming Pool en Captain B. Daarna zorgden Syq Kum en Backdoor voor de eerste hoogtepunten je voelde dat de band echt onder stoom kwam. Zanger Tom Adriaenssens leek voor het optreden rustig, maar op het podium werd hij neurotisch, zonder dat je hem op overacting kon betrappen. Zijn podiumgedrag drukt op overtuigende wijze de muziek uit die uit knap gitaarwerk en een stevige ritmesectie bestaat. Niet vergeten te vermelden: Click, Hole en een nieuwe song (ik vermoed dat de titel Defacts is). Julia werd het bisnummer, de bewerking van het Brutus-nummer dat op de ep staat en prima bij hun past. Na het zien van deze fijne optredens waren mijn verwachtingen volledig ingelost.

Je kan The Guru Guru nog zien op:
13 maart (Brussel, AB)
19 maart (Kortrijk, Den Trap)
8 april (Brugge, JH De Comma)

Wim GUILLEMYN
18/01/2016


18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16) 18/01/2016 : THE GURU GURU - Diksmuide, 4AD (15/01/16)

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)