tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015

THE HAMSTERS

Salford 31-10-2015

Concert
06/11/2015, Manu L DASH

EN

I only knew this band from thr name on some old punk posters. They used to play with some of my favorite bands such as Joy Division and The Fall. Yet, it’s not easy to find a lot about their musical historyon the internet, and on YouTube Hamster videos are scarce.

But apparently the singer is a living legend, especially in music city Manchester. He’s a cuddly psychopath called Moet, a man who saw the legendary Sex Pistols gig at the Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976. He formed a chaotic band called the Hamsters in 1981, and even had a brilliant book written about his life (2012). Ian Moss is also know from a band called Kill Pretty.

A good friend took us unexpected to their gig in a pub in Salford, MCR, last Saturday, where I also had the opportunity to meet Tony and Stephen from Salford radio station.

All of a sudden I saw a man in pyjama’s and a robe walking along the venue. He was accompanied by his friend, wearing combat shoes under a skirt. A few moments later they went on stage with two other guys. They seemed to be the band. The story goes that the singer was sick, but he still wanted to play and didn’t bother about the pyjama’s.

What followed was a a surprisingly and very strong set. (Post) punk at its best which blew me away by its pure energy. They dragged you out of your chair, you simply couldn’t resist. The fast songs were guitar driven, with a nice bass and aggressive drums. The lyrics were raw and everything what punk music stands for. And the attitude was great. People say that their credo used to be „We don’t care what people think of us”. And it still works, they really made my day! 

Their new EP Branches (recorded at the 6 dB studio’s of another great artist with the name of „Ding”) is released on 6th November 2015.

This article also appeared on Luminous Dash.

Manu L DASH
06/11/2015


NL

Ik ken deze band alleen maar van een aantal oude punkposters. Hij speelde destijds met een aantal van mijn favoriete bands zoals Joy Division en The Fall. Toch komt men op het internet niet veel te weten over de muzikale geschiedenis en op YouTube zijn hun video’s schaars.

Maar blijkbaar is de zanger een levende legende, vooral in muziekhoofdstad Manchester. Men vergelijkt hem met een knuffelachtige psychopaat (bijnaam Moet): de man die de legendarische Sex Pistols zag optreden in de Lesser Free Trade Hall in 1976. Hij vormde de chaotische band The Hamsters in 1981 en er is zelfs een schitterend boek over zijn leven geschreven (2012). Ian Moss is ook bekend van de band Kill Pretty.

Een goede vriend nam ons afgelopen zaterdag onverwachts mee naar een optreden in een pub in Salford, MCR, waar ik ook de kans kreeg om Tony en Stephen van Salford Radiostation te ontmoeten. Opeens zag ik een man in zijn pyjama rondwandelen in de zaal. Hij werd vergezeld door zijn vriend, hij droeg combatschoenen onder een rok. Even later gingen ze op het podium met twee andere jongens. Het leek erop dat zij leden van de band waren.

Het verhaal gaat dat de zanger ziek was, maar hij ging toch naar het optreden en deed niet eens de moeite om zich te verkleden. Hij hield gewoon zijn pyjama aan.

Wat volgde was een verrassende en zeer sterke set. (Post)punk op zijn best, die me van mijn sokken blies door de pure energie. Ze sleepten je uit je stoel op het podium, je kon er gewoon niet aan weerstaan: snelle nummers, gedreven door de gitaar, met een mooie bas en agressieve drums. De teksten zijn rauw en alles waar punkmuziek voor staat. En de houding was geweldig.

Hun nieuwe ep Branches (opgenomen in de 6 dB-studio’s van een ander groot artiest met de naam “Ding”) verschijnt op 6 november 2015. Dus punkliefhebbers, als je een concertje kan meepikken van deze band, doe het en koop de ep (een gelimiteerde release). Je zal niet teleurgesteld zijn!

Dit artikel verscheen tevens op Luminous Dash. Neem gerust een kijkje!

Manu L DASH
06/11/2015


06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015 06/11/2015 : THE HAMSTERS - Salford 31-10-2015

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret