tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

05/06/2014 : THE HIGH WIRE - Found in Honey

THE HIGH WIRE

Found in Honey

MusicDigital
IndieSinger Songwriter

[93/100]   
05/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The first track 'Last invitation' was so sweet that I got sticked to it. Nice female voice, acoustic guitar and more sweetness in the backings. Some violins (or is it a synth simulation?), reaching a high towards the end in a very sensitive way! 'LNOE' has more synths in it and a male voice leading. It almost sounds like a different band. Once again I'm touched by the melancholy.
The lyrics matter very much: it is indeed the possibility of the last night on earth! 'Angel speech', well the title says it all! However it's more a poppy and trip hop minded track. The sweetness of the voices, all electronics in the background and a perfect studio mix: it has it all to make it! 'The Names & The Tide' reminds me of Esben Svane, a great singer songwriter with a great voice! This track is one of my favorite ones on the album. It has a bit of X-mas feel (the twinkling stars sound for example). The greatness and sweetness goes on with 'Still'. Here I think about Smith & Burrows ('Funny looking angels') as possible influence!
The next 4 songs are pretty much in the same line (here and there a bit more of an electro sound), the sweetness and melancholy prevails. I'm very happy to get this one. It's a peaceful and relaxing thing (in between metal reviews this matters a lot).

One thing is for sure: the studio work on this one is impressive and I'm more than happy with the album! I'm counting on the fans to spread this one and let them grow!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
05/06/2014


 

Next reviews
• HIDDEN KINGDOMS
EPOCHE • Noose
BERNARD ROSE • Sxtape
BATTLEAXE • Heavy Metal Sanctuary
MONO - AMINE • Human Farming
4TH DIMENSION • Dispelling The Veil Of Illusions
PABLO TRAPERO • Carancho
STEPHEN SOMMERS • Odd Thomas
DOLLS OF PAIN • Dolls of Pain + A7IE @ Le Viziteur (Lille, France)
MIXE1 • Starlit Skin

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
ROBERT FORSTER • Songs To Play
DESTROYER • Poison Season
CECILIA MEADOWS • Cerulean Blue
THE BEACH • Thieves
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
TOM THE LION • Sleep
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
BEMYDELAY • Hazy Lights

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn