tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

14/09/2013 : THE HUMAN LEAGUE - Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)

THE HUMAN LEAGUE

Hemiksem, Casa Blanca Festival (08/08/2013)

Concert


[80/100]   
14/09/2013, Peter HESELMANS

The Human League have been around since 1977, and they certainly had some influence on the synth-pop bands of the 80’s, especially the first 3 albums they made, reproduction (79), travelogue (80) and dare! (81) were really great.

I m Missed their concert in Brussels last November, so I was very glad to see them appear on the Casa Blanca festival line-up. To my surprise, this was a free festival, nice, but also again some disadvantages, such as lots of uninterested people talking and partying during the gig.

They opened directly with the electronic sound that made them so popular in the 80s, with Mirror Man. The voice of Phil Oakey is still very good and powerful, but after a few songs you can easily say that The Human League IS Phil Oakey. The girls, Susan Ann Sulley and Joanne Catherall can’t handle the backing vocals any more. Have a listen to the following video I made, and listen to the chorus (eg. min 1.55’’)

And with all respect for the past and age, but can someone please tell Joanne, that she can’t wear the same outfits as 25 years ago.

Later on in the set it became dark and we really got some nice visuals. And I especially enjoyed the moments and songs Phil was alone on stage and gave us some great versions of Seconds, and one of my favorite Human League tracks ever, Empire State Human.

I had a nice time at this ‘Phil Oakey’ concert, but there was too much nostalgia involved to be really great.
They ended with a great version of Being Boiled!

Playlist:

Mirror man
Heart like a wheel
Sound of the crowd
Louise
Night people
Love action
Empire state human
Seconds
The Lebanon
Human
Open your heart
Tell me when
Fascination
Don’t you want me

Encores:
Being boiled
Together in electric dreams

(Peter Heselmans)

Peter HESELMANS
14/09/2013


Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back