tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/01/2017 : THE INSIGHT - The Other Side

THE INSIGHT

The Other Side

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark Wave

[80/100]   

Self-released
24/01/2017, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The previous release ,The White Noise, was largely post-punk and guitar-driven. The approach of their new, fourth album is more synth-oriented. The way the songs are crafted has largely remained the same as on White Noise but it's just in a different guise. And through that other jacket you get a different angle. To be honest: everything sounds a lot more original than the previous release. The vocals also are a nice contrast to the music. Only Wait Out can convince me less. The Sorrow is very atmospheric and reminiscent of darkwave. Come On even begins as synthpop to than to go to dark electro. Le Silence des Autres is a track somewhere between cold wave and dark wave. The French text gives it a nice atmosphere. The song is emerging very slowly and then fades out again. I like the approach and atmosphere in this song. This trick is repeated again in This Day. With a beautiful chorus by the way. Broken closes the album and leaves a solid impression.

With this album The Insight walks a different path. The guitars are largely gone and that is not a bad thing for their music. The synths and keys fit well with the vocals and everything sounds somewhat lighter, more original, yet dark enough to sound like a real darkwave band.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/01/2017


NL

De vorige release The White Noise was grotendeels gitaargedreven postpunk. De aanpak voor hun nieuwste, vierde album is meer synthgericht. De manier waarop de songs in elkaar steken is wel grotendeels hetzelfde gebleven als op White Noise maar het zit gewoon in een ander jasje. En door dat andere jasje krijg je toch een andere invalshoek. Om eerlijk te zijn: het geheel klinkt daardoor een stuk origineler dan de vorige release. De stem geeft ook een mooi contrast met de muziek. Alleen in Wait Out kan de zang mij minder overtuigen. The Sorrow is heel atmosferisch en doet aan darkwave denken. Come On begint zelfs als synthpop om dan over te gaan naar donkere electro. Le Silence Des Autres zit ergens tussen cold wave en dark wave in. De Franse teksten geven er een mooie kleur aan. De song ontpopt zich heel langzaam om dan terug weg te drijven. Ik hou van de aanpak en de sfeer in dit nummer. Op This Day wordt dit kunstje nog eens herhaalt. Mooi refrein trouwens. Broken sluit het album af en laat een degelijke indruk na.

Met dit album slaat The Insight een andere weg in. De gitaren worden grotendeels achterwege gelaten en voor hun muziek is dit geen slechte zaak. De synths en keys sluiten mooi aan op de zang en alles klinkt iets luchtiger, origineler en toch donker genoeg om als een echte darkwave band te klinken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/01/2017


 

Next reviews
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
XTC • Skylarking
THE HUMAN LEAGUE • A Very British Synthesizer Group
GOLDEN APES • Malus
FAREWELL • Sequoia
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25

 

Other reviews from THE INSIGHT
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
THE INSIGHT • White Noise

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + DARK WAVE
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
L'ORDRE DE HELOISE • Après Le Chaos
EUROROCK DAY 2 • Neerpelt (16/05/2015)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Deadfall Artist/Band Management: The Dark Secret Compilation Volume 3
• BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA
ASH CODE • Oblivion
HOT GUTS • Wilds
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Glaube Liebe Hoffnung
VOGON POETRY • More things to do in zero gravity EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)