tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[74/100]   

SwissDarkNights
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The cover looks a bit like Black Market Music by Placebo and indeed, these guys from Rennes make post-punk. Of course, it depends on what this term means, as it can be both the raw energy of early Wire and the polished sing-a-long tunes by Editors.

Funnily enough, this trio is taking the best of both worlds, added with some eccentric cold wave, because opener One Eyed Jack could be a track from Bloodflowers by The Cure.

This third album was released on Crysella Records, but there is now a second edition on Swiss Darknights. So, there is obviously a great interest in this threesome! And even though they never sound original (you always can compare them with something), White Noise still is impressive at times.

Drowned has the atmospheric feeling of Slowdive, added with the pop rhythm of say White Lies. In Give Me A Chance the long guitar parts are omitted and we get straightforward post-punk as you daily can hear on the radio till you’re sick of it. The only question is of course why The Insight is not included in the playlist. Right, they've stolen a lot of Editors who stole everything from Joy Division, so who will blame who?

Lost Soul begins with a typical Will Sergeant guitar and evolves into a pretty indie song that will please Muse fans. Falling Down sounds like the title suggests: a wistful lament. The trio probably will not be offended if we think that I Will has a high Bowie content. The Eyes is a nice punk tune with a high sing-along factor, while Movement is a beautiful piece of music that (coincidence or not) smells like New Order.

No, when it comes to originality, The Insight doesn't get many points, but they did impress us, though!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Het hoesje lijkt wat op Black Market Music van Placebo en deze jongens uit Rennes maken inderdaad ook post-punk. Natuurlijk, het is maar hoe je het bekijkt, want deze term betekent tegenwoordig zowel de rauwe energie van de vroegere Wire, als de gepolijste meezingertjes van Editors.

Grappig genoeg zweeft dit trio ergens tussen deze twee werelden, met bovenop nog een vleugje excentrieke coldwave, want de opener One Eyed Jack kon zo uit Bloodflowers van The Cure komen.

Nadat deze derde plaat van dit trio eerder op Crysella Records verscheen, is er nu een tweede editie op Swiss Dark Nights. Er is dus blijkbaar grote interesse voor dit drietal! En ook al komen de heren geen enkele keer origineel uit de hoek (je kan het wel altijd met iets vergelijken), is White Noise bij momenten toch indrukwekkend, en op andere momenten dan weer gewoontjes.

Drowned bezit bijv. het atmosferische gevoel van Slowdive, aangevuld met het popritme van zeg maar White Lies. In Give Me A Chance worden de lange gitaarpartijen wat achterwege gelaten en krijgen we recht toe recht aan postpunk zoals je die dagelijks tot vervelens toe op de radio kan horen. De enige vraagt die rijst is natuurlijk, waarom The Insight niet in de playlist zit. Juist, ze hebben heel wat van Editors gejat, maar die hebben op hun beurt dan weer alles van Joy Division gepikt, dus wie zal wie veroordelen?

Lost Soul begint met een typisch Will Sergeant-gitaartje en ontpopt zich na enkele luisterbeurten tot een knap indienummer dat wellicht fans van Muse zal plezieren. Falling Down klinkt zoals de titel het laat vermoeden: een weemoedige klaagzang. Het trio zal wellicht niet boos zijn als we vinden dat I Will een hoog Bowie-gehalte bevat. The Eyes is een knappe brok punk met een hoge meezingfactor, terwijl Movement door zijn meeslepend synthgeluid een prachtig stukje muziek is dat (toeval of niet) naar New Order ruikt.

Neen, als het op originaliteit aankomt krijgt The Insight weinig punten, maar indruk hebben ze wel gemaakt!

Klik hier voor hun Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


 

Next reviews
OST+FRONT • Sternenkinder
SAINTSENECA • Such Things
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II

 

Other reviews from THE INSIGHT
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE INSIGHT • White Noise

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour