tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/11/2015 : THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES - Tomorrow Is Never

THE LOVELY INTANGIBLES

Tomorrow Is Never

MusicCD
DreampopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesShoegaze

[86/100]   

Self-released
02/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Are you also one of those people who are constantly whining about the sad fact that you can’t find releases in the style of Cocteau Twins or Faith & The Muse these days? You know, the kind of music that once was labelled as "4AD music", and later got the (better) term ethereal dreampop. Never mind, as the remedy comes from New York. There are only nine songs on the debut album of The Lovely Intangibles, but they are all wonderful and fantastic enough to be considered as a classic in the genre.

These musicians are part of other bands (the most known one is The Lost Patrol), but because the four were so satisfied with their shoegaze dreampop, they created The Lovely Intangibles.

We could compare every track of Tomorrow Is Never with a well known band. Sometimes you think of Lush, then you suppose the dark ethereal gothrockpop of Faith & The Muse might be a reference, and suddenly Slowdive flashes through your mind, but does it make sense to do so?

The ten compositions are made for you to lie on your bed and dream away on the divine voice of Mary Ognibene, the dreamy keyboards of Stephen Masucci, the masterful guitar sounds of Michael Williams and the effective percussion by Tony Mann.

Tomorrow Is Never is the beautiful proof that you still can fall in love with music today, songs that carry you away, dreams that rarely can be experienced!

Didier BECU
02/11/2015


NL

Ben jij ook zo één van die mensen die maar blijven jammeren over het trieste feit dat er tegenwoordig geen releases meer in de stijl van Cocteau Twins of Faith & The Muse verschijnen? Je weet wel, het soort plaatjes dat we ooit als “4AD-muziek” omschreven, en later de betere noemer ethereal dreampop kreeg. Niet getreurd, want de remedie komt uit New York. Er staan maar negen nummers op het debuutalbum van The Lovely Intangibles, maar ze zijn allemaal wondermooi en fantastisch genoeg om als een klassieker in het genre te worden beschouwd.

Het zijn muzikanten die in verschillende bands hun ding doen (de voornaamste groep is The Lost Patrol), maar omdat de vier zo tevreden waren over hun shoegaze dreampop, werd The Lovely Intangibles geboren.

We zouden bij ieder nummer uit Tomorrow is Never wel een vergelijking kunnen verzinnen. Soms denk je aan Lush, een andere keer is het dan weer de donkere ethereal gothrockpop van Faith & The Muse, dan flitst de naam van Slowdive door je hoofd, maar heeft het allemaal wel zin om dat te doen?

Het zijn tien composities die gemaakt zijn om languit op je bed te liggen en weg te dromen bij de goddelijke stem van Mary Ognibene, de zweverige keyboards van Stephen Masucci, de magistrale gitaarklanken van Michael Williams en de ingetogen, maar effectieve percussie van Tony Mann.

Tomorrow Is Never is het mooie bewijs dat je vandaag nog steeds verliefd kan worden op muziek, nummers die je meevoeren naar dromen die je maar zelden kan beleven!

Didier BECU
02/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR • Antwerpen, Trix (30/10/2015)
MASK • Body Burn
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
PAVLOV'S DOG • Leuven, Het Depot (30/10/2015)
SOLAR FAKE • Another Manic Episode
HORSKH • Dawn (Extended Version)
THE COLORIST FT. EMILIANA TORRINI • Gent, De Handelsbeurs 29/10/2015
WOLFGANG FLUR • Eloquence-Complete Works
PACO ALMAZáN GUILLéN (VOX HUMANA) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything