tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

30/09/2015 : THE MARY HART ATTACK - A dark Green Light

THE MARY HART ATTACK

A dark Green Light

MusicCassette
Post PunkShoegaze

[77/100]   

Oddie Records
30/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The band’s name not only sounds like a Sonic Youth track, the songs of Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs and Kris Vlaeminck also sound like the loudest noise band of New York. This Belgian trio has been active for two years and their tape A Dark Green Light (which can also be found on Bandcamp) is their first achievement. The needles in this hidden treasure are razor sharp and among the best the Belgian shoegaze post-punk scene has to offer.

The title track The Collision Course Of My Destiny sounds deliciously messy. The guitars create an impenetrable wall of sound, the tight drums come straight from Psychocandy and the trio doesn’t forget one second that the essence of music still is composing a song. There's also a lot of shoegaze in their sound, as The Sky Awakes could be a demo from the early days of Ride, added with the best rock 'n roll of The Stooges. The most melodic song is A Dark Green Light. Again, we might refer to some shoegaze band, but after several listenings The Mary Hart Attack remains the only appropriate reference. You Talk Too Much is a lovely indie pop song with a high sing-along factor. Addictive!

The Mary Hart Attack opened with this release all the doors for a bright future in the Belgian indie scene. If you encounter their name anywhere on some calendar, then mark the date with a cross!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


NL

De groepsnaam klinkt niet alleen als een Sonic Youth-track, maar de nummers van Kristof Souvagie, Wil Mathijs en Kris Vlaeminck hebben ook wel wat weg van de luidste noisegroep uit New York. Dit Oost-Vlaamse trio is ondertussen al ruim twee jaar bezig en de tape A Dark Green Light (die je ook op Bandcamp kan vinden) is hun eerste wapenfeit. De kogels die in deze schat verborgen zitten zijn vlijmscherp en behoren tot het beste van wat de Belgische shoegaze-postpunkscène te bieden heeft.

Het titelnummer The Collision Course Of My Destiny klinkt heerlijk rommelig. De gitaren veroorzaken een ondoordringbare geluidsmuur, de strakke drums komen rechtstreeks uit Psychocandy en geen enkele seconde vergeet het trio dat de essentie van muziek nog altijd bestaat uit het componeren van een song. Er zit ook behoorlijk wat shoegaze in hun geluid, zo kon The Sky Awakes een demo uit de begindagen van Ride zijn, aangevuld met het beste uit de ruige rock ’n rolldagen van The Stooges. Het meest melodische nummer is A Dark Green Light. We zouden opnieuw naar één of andere shoegazeband kunnen verwijzen, maar na een aantal beluisteringen blijft The Mary Hart Attack de enige juiste referentie. Afsluiter You Talk Too Much is een heerlijk indiepopnummer met een hoge meezingfactor. Verslavend!

The Mary Hart Attack heeft met deze release meteen alle deuren geopend voor een gouden toekomst in de Belgische indiescène. Als je hun naam ergens tegenkomt in één of andere kalender, markeer dan alvast de datum met een kruisje!

Didier BECU
30/09/2015


 

Next reviews
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
ONEIROGEN • Plenitude
STATIC DAYDREAM • Static Daydream
DIMITRI (WOOL-E SHOP) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
SARAH CRACKNELL • Red Kite
ANDREW HEATH • Flux
ALIASING • Spell Rising
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • Through The Looking Glass

 

Other reviews from THE MARY HART ATTACK
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
THE MARY HART ATTACK • Ghent, The Video 04/01/16

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour