tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/03/2013 : THE MEN - New Moon

THE MEN

New Moon

MusicCD
IndieLo-fiNoise

[58/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
15/03/2013, Didier BECU

I’m used to a lot of things and I’m even the kind of guy who likes to annoy his neighbors by picking up now and then a record by Fugazi, but I wasn’t convinced at all when hearing the noise of The Men. The previous albums from this Brooklyn based band (Leave Home and Open Your Heart) were popular among lots of shoegazefans, so my expectations were rather high when putting their latest offering into my cdplayer. Probably too high.

Is it just me or did I played this record at the wrong time, I don’t know, but for me this was just a bland cacophony in where nothing happens. The Men might have been compared to Husker Dü, but the only thing they have in common with them is that they’re loud. From the opening song Open The Door you’ll hear that everything will be a true ram jam, but with this alone you don't create music.

If you will fall in love for this noisy (monotone) psychpunk (or whatever it is) or not is a very personal case, but I was already bored after five minutes and it stayed like this during the whole trip. Noisy, but sometimes noise need melodies too.

Didier BECU
15/03/2013


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electric Voice II Compilation
FEW BITS • Few Bits
DIE PERLEN • Zurück
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert in Antwerp on 12 March 2013
PIETER NOOTEN • Haven
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
TEMPESTA • Unbounded
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • Chemical Playschool 15
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + LO-FI + NOISE
ENABLERS • Blown realms and stalled explosions

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: LO-FI
STACIAN • Person L
XOSAR • Xymeria
LUXVID • Trench
SUBHEIM • Foray
MATT ROCK • Get Blank
LOREN NERELL AND MARK SEELIG • Tree Of Life
MONGOLITO • Acedia
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
GERARD HERMAN • Fêta Justice
SUNDAY BELL RINGERS • Sunday Bell Ringers

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything