tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

THE MORGANATICS

We Come From The Stars

MusicCD
Alternative RockDream Metal

[70/100]   
17/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

At the first listen, you sometimes know immediately: this is good or bad. You’ve got albums that need time to grow (usually those are the best albums…). This album was hard. First I thought it will be a grower. But after many listenings, I can only conclude that this record has only a pair of good moments. Sadly not everything is good. The album sometimes chooses the metal way and sometimes the music sounds like dream pop/rock pop. For me no problem, but I missed some cohesion. Secondly, the mix is a little flat and as a consequence not everything sounds in the right proportions. The parts with vocals are the best. The solo parts of the male singer (specially with the effects behind his voice) are difficult to listen to for a whole album. His voice suits better by poppy songs, I guess…

Strong moments: a lot of ideas, some very nice guitar parts and the female voice who suits good with the dreamy passages. The album lacks some consistency, though. When you look at the artwork (cover, band pics), you might think that is a CD of a R&B band. That’ s a shame, because the music contains some good elements, but there’s still some work to do in in the build up of the songs and the album in general.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


NL

Je hebt albums waarvan je direct weet: dit is goed of slecht. Je hebt er die moeten groeien (en dat zijn meestal de beste…). Dit album was een moeilijke. Ik dacht eerst dat het een groeiplaat zou worden. Uiteindelijk ben ik na meerdere luisterbeurten tot het besluit gekomen dat deze plaat zeker een aantal goede muzikale momenten bevat. Maar er schort toch hier en daar wat aan. Ten eerste hinkt ze wat op twee gedachten: sommige nummers zoeken metal wat op, terwijl andere songs eerder rockpop of dreampop zijn. Op zich kan dit geen kwaad, maar daardoor ontbreekt de samenhang wat. Ten tweede is de mix wat vlak waardoor sommige elementen onvoldoende tot hun recht komen. De samenzang dient de nummers het best. Als de zanger alleen zingt (met telkens dat effect erop) dan vind ik het moeilijk om het album helemaal te beluisteren. Hij heeft eerder een pop stem die wat te licht is in de zwaardere passages.

Sterke momenten zijn: veel ideeën, hier en daar prachtige gitaarpartijen en de vrouwenstem die heel goed past bij de dromerige passages. Het album zelf mocht iets consistenter zijn, alsook de hoes en de bandfoto’s die bij een eerste aanblik je doet denken aan een R&B-band. Dat is jammer want zoals gezegd heeft de muziek goede elementen, maar qua song- en albumopbouw is er nog werk aan de winkel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
17/08/2015


17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars 17/08/2015 : THE MORGANATICS - We Come From The Stars

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)