tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

THE POODLES

Devil in Details

MusicCD
MetalRock

[79/100]   

Gain Music
25/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When you don’ t know this band (you’re not alone I was also one of them) and you’ll like pominded hardrock/metal in the genre of bands like Europe, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Def Leppard… than you must check this out. In their foreign country Sweden they’re already a long time big.

Now they brings out their 6th album. With a new bass player (the previous one joined King Diamond). I must admit to everything sound well produced. The vocals of Jacob Samuel sounds a little like Joe Tempest (Europe). A pleasant voice to listen to. The songs have very recognazible and sing-along choruses. You actually believes what he sings even the lyrics are by moments very cliché. Like on their first single ‘The Greatest’. It has an epic and atmospheric intro. The song also angling for the nomination of live- anthem. This is a nice and polished single. The most other songs are a little bit heavier. With some nice guitar parts also. ‘Crack in the Wall’ tend to be symphonic metal. A nice song that can do well on stage. ‘Life Without’ and ‘Creator and Breaker’ stays agreeable songs after several listenings.

You imagine yourself by moments back in the time when earlier called band where played on MTV. Poodles sounds and looked a little like then. So, musically you don’t have to expect new metal but old school well build up songs. Very catchy and melodic. Probably very likeable by some aloder metal fans (like myself included).

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


NL

Voor wie deze band niet kent (ik moet bekennen dat ik er één van was) en houdt van popgerichte hardrock/metal in de stijl van Bon Jovi, Europe, Aerosmith, Def Leppard … dan moet je deze band eens checken. In thuisland Zweden zijn ze al jaren groot in hun genre.

Deze band brengt hun 6de album uit. Met een nieuwe bassist (de vorige bassist is vertrokken naar King Diamond). Ik moet zeggen dat alles haarfijn geproduceerd is. Alles klinkt heel goed. De vocals van zanger Jacob Samuel liggen in de buurt van Joe Tempest (Europe). Aangenaam om naar te luisteren. De songs hebben heel herken- en meezingbare refreinen. Verder geloof je ook echt wat hij zingt zelfs als hij heel clichématige teksten ten berde brengt. Zoals op hun eerste single ‘The Greatest’. Het heeft een mooie epische en sfeerrijke intro. Het nummer hengelt naar een nominatie voor live- anthem. Dit is een aardige en gepolijste single. De meeste andere nummers zijn iets steviger. Hier en daar fijn gitaarspel. ’Crack in the Wall’ neigt zelfs een beetje naar symfonische metal. Een mooi nummer dat live wel gensters kan slaan. ‘Life Without’ blijft net als ‘Creator and Breaker’ leuke songs na meerdere beluisteringen.

Je waant je bij momenten in de tijd terug toen we eerder genoemde groepen (Europe…) op MTV zagen voorbij passeren. Ze klinken en zien er een beetje uit zoals toen. Op zich moet je dus muzikaal geen vernieuwingen verwachten maar wel degelijk opgebouwde songs die heel melodieus klinken. Vakmanschap die waarschijnlijk de iets oudere metalfan (zoals mezelf zijnde) zal aanspreken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
25/04/2015


25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details 25/04/2015 : THE POODLES - Devil in Details

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret