tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE SLOW SHOW - DREAM DARLING

THE SLOW SHOW

DREAM DARLING

MusicCD
DreampopRock

[100/100]   

Haldern Pop Recordings
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

The second album by the British band The Slow Show is called Dream Darling and it is a hit. The band sounds a bit like The National and has enough originality in order to become very big. The album contains 10 tracks and we do not exaggerate if we write that they sound excellent, without nasty hard rock guitars or devastating electronics, but with beautiful melodies, floating on piano, acoustic and electric guitar and an orchestration of real instruments and economical synths. Strangers Now and Hurts are two very beautiful ballads in which the dark and slightly raspy voice of Rob Goodwin has the function of an attention grabber. Sometimes you know from the first track
that an album is great from start to finish, and that's the case here. Lullaby sounds like a singer-songwriter ballad in which the singer gently spreads the vocals on the sound of a quiet acoustic guitar. Very nice.

Dry my Bones sounds a bit like Leonard Cohen, but after a while Ron Goodwin sings in a higher key, and then returns to the darker vocal depths a la Matt Berninger, although The Slow Show never sounds like a copy of the American band. Piano and guitars sound at the fore in the mix, with beautiful strings in the background. Sometimes you have the impression that Ron Goodwin is not singing but reciting his lyrics, as in This Time, on a substrate of beautiful sounding strings and piano. The orchestration creates a beautiful and sometimes slightly romantic background, while brass instruments take the lead. Very nice. Brawling Tonight gets double vocals and the wonderful support of strummed electric guitars, while Last Man Standing grows into the ultimate goose bumps song with piano and strings, backed by beautiful drums.

A male choir is added to Breaks Today. Piano and brass instruments again create a stunning backdrop for Ron Goodwin's resonating voice. Brick comes far too early, because we could listen to The Slow Show for hours. It is an atmospheric last track with female voices as howling sirens and contrasting bass voices. No vocals this time, but as impressive as the rest of the material.

Definitely in our top 3 of 2016!

Tracklisting:
1 Strangers Now
2 Hurts
3 Ordinary Lives
4 Lullaby
5 Dry My Bones
6 This Time
7 Brawling Tonight
8 Last Man Standing
9 Breaks Today
10 Brick

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Het tweede album van de Britse band The Slow Show heet Dream Darling en het is een schot in de roos. De band klinkt een beetje zoals The National en heeft alles aan boord om zeer groot te worden. Het album bevat 10 tracks en zonder overdrijven: ze klinken alle tien perfect, zonder oervervelende hardrockgitaren of alles verwoestende elektronica, maar met prachtige melodieën die drijven op piano, akoestische en elektrische gitaar en een orkestratie van echte instrumenten en zuinige synths. Strangers Now en Hurts zijn twee bloedmooie ballades met de donkere en lichtjes krakende stem van Rob Goodwin als aandachtstrekker. Soms weet je vanaf de eerste track dat je goud in handen hebt, en dat is hier het geval. In Ordinary Lives gaat het tempo lichtjes crescendo en word je als luisteraar op een prachtige orkestratie vergast. Lullaby klinkt als een singer-songwritersballade waarin de zanger voorzichtig de vocalen over een rustige akoestische gitaar uitsmeert. Heel erg mooi.

Dry my Bones heeft iets van Leonard Cohen, maar na verloop van tijd gaat Ron Goodwin heel even een octaaf hoger om dan terug te keren tot de donkere vocale krochten à la Matt Berninger, zij het dat The Slow Show nooit een kopie wordt van de Amerikaanse band. Piano en gitaren zitten opnieuw vooraan in de mix, met prachtige strijkers op de achtergrond. Soms heb je de indruk dat Ron Goodwin z’n teksten niet zingt maar voordraagt, zoals in This Time, op een bedje van prachtig klinkende strijkers en piano. De orkestratie zorgt voor een mooie en soms lichtjes romantische achtergrond met blazers die het voortouw nemen. Heel erg mooi. Brawling Tonight krijgt dubbele vocalen en de prachtige ondersteuning van getokkelde elektrische gitaren, terwijl Last Man Standing uitgroeit tot de ultieme kippenveltrack op tonen van piano en strijkers, gesteund door prachtige drums.

In Breaks Today wordt een mannekoortje toegevoegd, terwijl piano en blazers opnieuw een prachtige achtergrond creëren waartegen de stem van Ron Goodwin op een perfecte manier resoneert. Brick komt veel te vroeg, want naar The Slow Show konden we nog uren luisteren. Het is een atmosferische laatste track met vrouwenstemmen als huilende sirenes en diepe basstemmen. Geen vocalen dit keer, maar niet te min indrukwekkend.

Staat zeker in onze top-3 van 2016!

Tracklisting:
1 Strangers Now
2 Hurts
3 Ordinary Lives
4 Lullaby
5 Dry My Bones
6 This Time
7 Brawling Tonight
8 Last Man Standing
9 Breaks Today
10 Brick

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


Music reviews

26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris
17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
18
07
Today it’s 33 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo!
16
07
Today, Blutengel released their brand-new Album 'Erlösung - The Victory of Light'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My