tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust

THE SPILLS

Collecting Dust

MusicCD
PopPunkRock

[65/100]   

Alcopop Records
27/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

With their debut album Occam's Razor, the Yorkshire quartet attracted the attention of BBC 6Music. on their second album Collecting Dust, they again bring a repertoire of rock and punk, in which the guitars sound melodic, and loud and youthful roughness is coupled with melodic pop music.

Hidding Blood is a rock song with great sounding vocals and crisp guitar sounds, while Waste and Pine and Flash Floods are similar composition with quiet and loud passages and varied guitar playing. Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher is more melodic and shows another facet of their repertoire, which is also dealt with in Floyd. The guitars often sound emphatic, but they never try to stifle the voice. And in Nothing's Gonna Kill Me (Tonight), the rhythm part is played by the guitars, because there is no percussion added. We hear influences of Psychic TV, but otherwise this is just a great rocker.

Pepper's Ghost is a good straightforward rock song and also Stopper sounds very attractive with whining guitars, guitar noise in between and a metal-like finale. The instrumental composition I Shot an Arrow into the Air begins with varied percussion, gets quiet and dark guitars, melodious guitars on top, noise underneath, and floats at a leisurely pace through the melody. A Film and a Frame is another steamy rock song, and finally, Rust is an emphatic pop/rock ballad.

Collecting Dust is a varied album, but The Spills lack strong melodies, while the structure of the songs is often along the same lines, and they often sound too predictable.

Tracklist:
1. Hidden Blood
2. Waste and Pine
3. Flash Floods
4. Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher
5. Broken Guts
6. Floyd
7. Nothing’s Gonna Kill Me (Tonight)
8. Pepper’s Ghost
 9. Stopper
0. I Shot An Arrow Into the Air
1. A Film and a Frame
2. Rust 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UCYUiLmdhs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UCYUiLmdhs

William LIÉNARD
27/10/2015


NL

Met hun debuutalbum Occam’s Razor trok het Yorkshirese kwartet eerder de aandacht van BBC 6Music. op hun tweede album Collecting Dust trekken ze opnieuw de kaart van licht en donker met een repertoire van rock, punk en pop, waarin de gitaren de ene keer melodisch en de andere keer luid en schreeuwerig klinken, en waarin ze hun jeugdige ruwheid koppelen aan melodische popmuziek.

Hidding Blood is een rocksong met goed klinkende vocalen en knisperend gitaargeluid, dat regelmatig naar gierend gitaargeluid overschakelt, waarbij de meervoudige vocalen voor een flinke portie heibel zorgen. Waste and Pine en Flash Floods zijn gelijksoortige compositie met rustige en luide passages en gevarieerd gitaarspel, terwijl Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher een melodische richting in gaat en een ander facet van het repertoire zichtbaar maakt dat ook in Floyd aan bod komt. De gitaren klinken ook hier vaak nadrukkelijk, maar ze proberen nooit om de stem weg te drukken. En ook in Nothing’s Gonna Kill Me (Tonight) zijn de gitaren nadrukkelijk aanwezig, nemen ze bij gebrek aan slagwerk het ritme voor hun rekening, en krijgt de zanglijn alle ruimte. De song heeft iets van Psychic TV, maar voor de rest is dit gewoon een uitstekende rocker.

Peppers Ghost is een uitstekende recht toe recht aan rocksong en ook Stopper klinkt zeer aantrekkelijk met jengelende gitaren, gitaarnoise tussendoor en een metalachtige finale. De instrumentale compositie I Shot an Arrow into the Air begint met gevarieerd slagwerk, krijgt rustige en donkere gitaren, welluidende gitaren bovenop en noise onderaan, en dobbert tegen een rustige tempo door de melodie. A Film and a Frame is opnieuw een stomende rocksong en Rust sluit het album af met een nadrukkelijke pop-/rockballade.

Collecting Dust is een gevarieerd album, maar het ontbreekt The Spills nog wat aan sterke melodieën terwijl de opbouw van de songs te veel volgens hetzelfde stramien verloopt en vaak te voorspelbaar is.

William LIÉNARD
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust 27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust 27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust

 

Next reviews
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Crushed By The Chips
THE POODLES • Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)
TYMON DOGG • Made of Light

 

Same combination of genres: POP + PUNK + ROCK
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday
JOHN WATTS • Fischer-Z

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn