tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

01/08/2015 : THE TELESCOPES - Hidden Fields

THE TELESCOPES

Hidden Fields

MusicCD
NoiseShoegazeSpacerock

[80/100]   

Tapete Records
01/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Telescopes have released six albums since their debut ‘Taste’ (1989). ‘Hidden Fields’ is their seventh record. They toured with Jesus and Mary Chain, Primal Scream…They even were headliners with The Cranes and, Ride as support. They are hardly known in our region.

On ‘Hidden Fields’you hear shoegaze and space oriented music. No easy listening, but well done. Listen for example to the first song ‘You Know the Way’, which has an beautiful and long intro. Beautiful in a sense of: dissonant, chaotic and interesting. This is a band that is still looking for challenges. For themselves and for the audience. Music that does not fit into a radio format, but luckily there are still bands that don't care.

Five songs and an album worth listening to. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/08/2015


NL

The Telescopes hebben sedert hun debuut ‘Taste’ in 1989 zes albums uitgebracht. Met ‘Hidden Fields’ ziijn ze aan nummer zeven toe. Ze tourden o.a. met Jesus and Mary Chain, Primal Scream… Ze waren zelfs een tijdje zelf hoofdact met The Cranes, Ride in het voorprogramma… Toch zijn ze bij ons niet zo bekend.

Op ‘Hidden Fields’ hoor je vooral shoegaze en spacy muziek. Niet meteen heel toegankelijk, maar wel goed gemaakt. Luister bijvoorbeeld maar eens naar de opener ‘You Know The Way’, die een mooie en lange intro heeft. Mooi in de zin van: dissonant, chaotisch en boeiend. Deze band zoekt nog altijd de uitdaging op. Uitdaging voor zichzelf en voor de luisteraars. Geen muziek die in een radioformat past, maar gelukkig zijn er nog bands die passen voor saaie formats.

Vijf songs op een album dat het ontdekken waard is.

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
01/08/2015


 

Next reviews
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
KARL BARTOS • Off The Record
JONAH FOREE (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RYAN HUTMAN (HARDWIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HENRY KING • The Bravados
CRISTIAN SOTO VANELLI (DIE BRAUT, NEURAL EMBRYONIC, XIAN TRANCE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIOTMILOO & FRIENDS • La Pierre Soudée
JACQUES DERAY • Le Marginal
ROBERT PALMER • Essential albums by Robert Palmer
MIST • The Loop of Love

 

Other reviews from THE TELESCOPES
THE TELESCOPES • The Complete Creation Recordings 1990-1992
THE TELESCOPES • Taste

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
06
Soft Cell's Tainted Love re-released by Cleopatra Records!
12
06
CARBON MARTYR Addresses Mankind & Technology With Debut Album
11
06
Darkwave Duo Band HANGING FREUD Speaks Of Loss And Transformation with 'Persona Normal'
11
06
30 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
10
06
30 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 43 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since in was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
06
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
11
06
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
11
06
PATIENCE
The Church (Night School, 2016)
10
06
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
09
06
FAUNA TWIN
Water On Mars
08
06
PERSEPHONE
Downfall
07
06
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling