tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California

THE TRAIN SET

Never California

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[80/100]   

Firestation Records
14/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Smiths were a special band with a unique sound. When I heard the opening track Hold On by The Train Set, I immediately thought of them, and so you know how their music can be best described. Even more, this is a compilation of a band that comes from the same period as the one from Morrissey and his companions. Why some groups make it and others don't, depends on a lot of factors. In any case, this compilation includes indie rock and uptempo songs with a guitar sound à la Johnny Marr (The Smiths) and McIntosh (Pretenders).

They released two 12 "inches that reached the Indie Record Charts, toured with The Happy Mondays (they had the same manager) and their first single She's Gone was the NME single of the week. And yet, they did not reach the public. The members came together again to make a selection for this compilation.

It's a fine album full of nostalgia, one for lovers of indie rock of the late 80s.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/09/2015


NL

The Smiths waren een bijzondere band, met een uniek en tegendraads geluid. Meteen bij het openingsnummer Hold On van The Train Set moest ik meteen aan hun denken, en hiermee weet je ook in welke richting we hun muziek kunnen situeren. Sterker nog, dit is een compilatie van een band uit dezelfde periode als die van Morrissey en zijn kompanen. Waarom sommige groepen doorbreken en andere niet, hangt van heel veel factoren af. In ieder geval bevat deze verzamelaar indierock en uptempo liedjes met een gitaarspel à la Johnny Marr (The Smiths) en McIntosh (Pretenders).

Ze brachten twee 12” inches uit die de Indie Record Charts bereikten, gingen op tournee met The Happy Mondays (ze hadden trouwens dezelfde manager) en hun eerste single She ’s Gone werd in de NME de single van de week. En toch bereikten ze niet het grote publiek zoals sommige gelijksoortige groepen uit die tijd dat wel deden. De leden kwamen weer samen om een selectie te maken voor deze compilatie.

Het is een fijn album vol nostalgie en leuke liedjes, eentje voor liefhebbers van indierock uit de late 80s.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/09/2015


14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California 14/09/2015 : THE TRAIN SET - Never California

Music reviews

07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!
03
05
On this day, 16 years ago Nine Inch Nails released [WITH_TEETH]!
02
05
32 years of Disintegration!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party
05
05
SEVERE ILLUSION
Contribution
04
05
KIM WILDE
Cambodia
03
05
SYD 31
Bulldoze Everything
02
05
THE CURE
10:15 Saturday Night