tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

THE YOUNG GODS

Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

Concert


[90/100]   
21/11/2013, Fred GADGET

We don't have to say we were pretty exited to see The Young Gods perform especially as the band announced they would play songs from their first two albums The Young Gods (1987) and L'eau Rouge (1989). When we arrived at the cosy venue Le Nouveau Casino it was already packed to the roof, not surprisingly as the concert was sold out.

The support DJ/Artist BIT-TUNER was already halfway his set and the second half didn’t make us feel we miss out something spectacular. It was only when the stage was being prepared for the headliners of that night, the tension and cheering started to rise. And then the lights dimmed …

Only a couple of white beams penetrated the pitch black venue when singer Franz Treichler and original keyboard player and sample wizard Cesare Pizzi entered the stage. They kicked off with the dark and gloomy C.S.C.L.D.F. (As if it was the last time), a B-side from their first 12” single Envoyé! (1986). It was clear I would be a steamy night at Le Nouveau Casino. Meanwhile drummer Bernard Trontin placed himself behind the impressive drum kit and counted down for their second song of the night Jusqu’au Bout.

The live drums clearly added more energy and the front rows started to heave to the music. From then on their classic songs like Fais la Mouette, The Irrtum Boys, Á Ciel Ouvert where fired upon us, turning the floor into a whirlpool of people and leaving the audience almost no time to breathe.

The Young Gods kept building up the tension and energy toward the triple climax with Crier Les Chiens , Pas Mal and L'Amourir which set the complete venue on fire, even making a six year old (sitting on the bar next to her parents wearing ear protection) headbang wildly! Eat this Justin Bieber! They left the stage as they entered … with a more quiet song... Si Tu Gardes.

As expected the audience didn’t had enough and chanted for more or ‘Encore!’. The Young Gods came back to play three more songs, ending with their first ever and underground hit single Envoyé!. After that they left their fans totally exhausted and almost numb behind... but they didn't go before not explicitly thanking everyone present for the great night!

Conclusion: After more then 23 years The Young Gods still didn't pas their expiration date yet! Still sounding, young, godlike and angry!

The Young Gods will perform on December 21st @ BIMFEST 2013 - Trix - Antwerp, don't miss them!

Setlist: 
The Young Gods Paris - 16.11.2013

1) C.S.C.L.D.F.(As if it was the last time)
2) Jusqu’au Bout
3) Fais La Mouette
4) The Irrtum Boys
5) Jimmy
6) À Ciel Ouvert
7) L'Eau Rouge
8) Did You Miss Me
9) Percussionne
10) Crier les Chiens
11) Pas Mal
12) L'Amourir
13) Si Tu Gardes

Encores
14) La Fille de la Mort
15) Feu
16) Envoyé

Fred GADGET
21/11/2013


21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013) 21/11/2013 : THE YOUNG GODS - Live @ Le Nouveau Casino - Paris (16.11.2013)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn