tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : THERAPY? - Tides

THERAPY?

Tides

MusicCD (EP)
PunkRock

[70/100]   

Amazing Record Co
09/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

In March 2015, Therapy? released the 12th studio album, the acclaimed Disquiet. The first single was Still Hurts. After the album release, the trio from Northern-Ireland, consisting of Andy Cairns on vocals and guitar, Michael McKeegan on bass and Neil Cooper on drums, toured and played some memorable shows in the Benelux.

On 15th April, Therapy? releases the EP Tides. The title track was featured on Disquiet. The EP also includes the new tracks Smile Or Die, Slippies and a special remix of Insecurity by industrial/electro producer Pitchphase.

If you already own Disquiet, you are familiar with this majestic tune Tides. On this track you hear the Therapy? sound of Infernal Love (1995) concluding great guitar riffs, clean vocals and a very rich sound. I also hear echoes from that other great guitar trio, Hüsker Dü, but slightly pimped and refined for the 21st century. I guess Cairns and C° won't mind to be linked to this great band. Cairns recently stated that Tides was inspired by writer Samuel Beckett.

Smiles or Die sounds raw and dirty. This song could have been a demo of Troublegum or the later Suicide Pact, You First. Despites that demo sound, it’s not a bad song at all, but I guess it won’t be a Therapy? classic.

Slippies is driven by a tight bass riff by Michael McKeegan, raw, in your face and catchy as hell. The melody is really strong with great vocals by Cairns. This is Therapy? the way I like it: raw, rough and very melodic, with big riffs and great vocals. The message is clear: History's gone, today I learnt nothing.

The remix of Insecurity surely is something for your next new wave or dark wave party, but I wonder whether Therapy? fans will be utterly happy with it. I would have chosen another great riff track. Not a bad remix, not at all, but no extra value, if you ask me.

Nevertheless, the EP is worth buying for the strong Therapy? tracks Tides and Slippies which deserve your attention, with Smiles or Die as a nice extra!

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


NL

In maart 2015 bracht Therapy? het twaalfde album Disquiet uit dat erg goed werd ontvangen bij het pers en publiek. De eerste single daaruit was Still Hurts. Het Noord-Ierse trio met zanger-gitarist Andy Cairns, oerlid-bassist Michael McKeegan en drummer Neil Cooper, gaf in 2015 vervolgens een aantal zeer bevlogen shows in de Benelux.

Op 15 april 2016 komt Tides uit, de derde single van Disquiet, die als een ep met 4 tracks verschijnt (digitaal en als gelimiteerde cd) met de volgende tracks: Tides (albumversie), de nieuwe songs Smile or Die en Slippies en een speciale remix van Insecurity door industrial-/elektroproducer Pitchphase.

Wie het album in huis heeft, kent de nieuwe single natuurlijk al: een magistrale tune waarin rijkelijk teruggegrepen wordt naar de Therapy?-sound van Infernal Love: stevige vette riffs, zuivere vocals en een kamerbreed geluid. Ik hoor er ook de echo van dat andere geweldige gitaartrio in terug: Hüsker Dü, maar dan opgepoetst, verfijnd en gepimpt naar 2016. Een link die Cairns en C° vast niet erg vinden. Andy Cairns verwees recent naar schrijver Samuel Beckett als inspiratiebron voor Tides. En daar valt wel wat voor te zeggen qua sfeerschepping.

Smiles or Die klinkt een heel stuk rauwer, vuiler en rommeliger. De song lijkt wel een demo voor Troublegum of het latere Suicide Pact, You First. Ondanks dat demogeluid is het best wel een lekkere track, maar het wordt vast geen Therapy?-klassieker.

Dan liever Slippies, gedreven op de hechte basriff van Michael McKeegan, ruw en robuust, recht in je gezicht en aanstekelijk als de pest, met een ijzersterke melodie en geweldige vocals van McCairns. Therapy zoals ik het graag hoor: ruw en tegelijk erg melodieus, met vette riffs en knappe vocals. Met als te onthouden boodschap: History's gone, today I learnt nothing.

De remix van Insecurity lijkt ideaal voor de dansvloer op je eerstvolgend donker wavefeestje. Maar of die iets toevoegt? Of de fans hier blij mee zullen zijn? Ik weet het niet. Volgens mij hadden ze beter nog een lekkere rifftrack als afsluiter op de ep gezet.

Maar eigenlijk is deze ep alleen al voor Tides en Slippies zijn aanschaf waard, met Smiles or Die als leuke extra.

Mark VAN MULLEM
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ATOMIC NEON • The Bodanegra Session
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
RED MECCA • Electricity
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Black Easter 2016
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
MERCIFUL NUNS • Allseeing Eye EP
LUDOVIC DHENRY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PATRIARCH • Rage of Gods
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory

 

Other reviews from THERAPY?
THERAPY? • AB 6 april 2015
THERAPY? • Disquiet

 

Same combination of genres: PUNK + ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
MR SHIRAZ • 21 Grams (EP)
THE BONES • Flash The Leather
THE KENDOLLS • Automania
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do
DEAD CLONES • Dead Clones
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday
PEGA MONSTRO • Alfarroba

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
08
CASPIAN
Rioseco
03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings