tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/06/2015 : THOMAS BRINKMANN - What You Hear (is what you hear)

THOMAS BRINKMANN

What You Hear (is what you hear)

MusicCD
AmbientExperimental
Editions Mego
03/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Thomas Brinkmann is known for making music that floats between techno, ambient and minimalism. Maybe youl know him from his pioneering albums 'Klick' and 'Variations' or 'The Mortimer Trap', a collaboration with Oren Ambarchi. On this album, he goes a step further because he strips the music of any kind of emotion and feeling.The artwork is also a good example of it. His 11 tracks are sound and song compositions that have little in common with regural and traditional songs structures

This is not a mainstream, not even alternative album.It's really a matter of looking beyond all the limits of prevailing values. So, you get new impressions by listenng to this music. To me, it's only interesting to discover the new sounds he develops. For the rest it's not easy to listen to. Therefor it's difficult to give a score to his work. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/06/2015


NL

Thomas Brinkmann staat erom bekend muziek te maken die zweeft tussen techno, ambient en minimalisme. Misschien zijn zijn baanbrekende werken 'Klick' en ' Variations' of 'The Mortimer Trap' (een samenwerking met Oren Ambrachi) je wel bekend. Op dit album gaat hij nog een stapje verder en ontdoet als het ware de muziek van elke vorm van emotie en gevoel. Zijn 11 tracks bestaan uit klankcomposities die ver afstaan van traditonele geluid- en songstructuren.

Het is geen mainstream en zelfs geen alternatief album geworden. Het is echt een kwestie van het opzoeken van de limieten voorbij alle heersende waarden. Zo moet je als luisteraar nieuwe indrukken opdoen tijdens het beluisteren. Voor mij gaat het iets te ver om beluisterbaar te blijven, zeker in vergelijking met zijn vroeger werk. Wat ik vooral interssant vind zijn de geluiden die hij uit zijn instrumenten weet te puren. Daarom heb ik ook geen score gegeven aan dit album. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
03/06/2015


 

Next reviews
POKEY LAFARGE • Something In The Water
FABRICE DU WELZ • Alleluia
• ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK SEASON 2
STAHLNEBEL & BLACK SELKET • We Break the Silence
ANNE THERESA DE KEERSMAEKER & ROSAS • Golden Hours (As you like it), Antwerpen, deSingel, 28/05/2015
ROEL REINE • The Man With The Iron Fists 2
ALAN WHITE • Reclaim
SILENTLIE • Layers of Nothing
MICHAEL HEAD & THE RED ELASTIC BAND • Velvets In The Dark
XAVIER BEAUVOIS • La Rançon De La Gloire

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
KINE • Meditations In April Green
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
MIRT • Oh! You are so naive!

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall