tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/09/2014 : THREE WINTERS - Chroma

THREE WINTERS

Chroma

MusicCD
Electro PopKrautrockSoundtrack

[87/100]   

Termo Records
09/09/2014, Didier BECU

Good music doesn’t need words. Wagner or Bach could express with the use of notes emotions, words simply can’t. That is exactly what goes through your mind when hearing the debut Chroma of Three Winters: the Oslo based electronica trio of Kim Sølve, Anders B. Lars and Fredrik Frøislie. Well, they use words, but you won’t understand any of them as they’re all performed with vocoders.

The debut from these Norwegians is a blast. A masterpiece! Great words indeed, but that happens when your electronic music is based on artists like John Carpenter, Goblin, Vangelis, Tangerine Dream or Giorgio Moroder!

All songs have a certain style you’re familiar with: be it the soundtrack of a John Carpenter-movie or an Argento-giallo, but these three musicians are clever enough to come up with real own compositions, not rip-offs.

You can surely say it’s all bombastic, even Wagner-esque!

Chroma takes you back into time without sounding outdated, a retro sound that sounds fresh! They have a Krautock-atmosphere without sounding too complicated. I mean, you can hear some Can in here, but the tracks are perfect for the dancefloor.

They’re the kind of band that let you realise that we need to pick up Spiral by Vangelis again rather than the newest Coldplay. It probably has something to do with my fascination for Dario Argento and Carpenter but this album has already a place in my Top 10 of 2014.

 Chroma is released on 19 September 2014 through Termo Records.

Didier BECU
09/09/2014


 

Next reviews
DAVID GROVIC • The Bag Man
GARETH EDWARDS • Godzilla
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • What I don't see
MINIUT MACHINE • Live and Destroy
DON MICHAEL PAUL • Jarhead 2 Field Of Fire
EDOUARD MOLINARO • MOVIE CLASSICS : La Cage Aux Folles
CHRONOGRAPHS • The Tallest Peak
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
WASTED SHELLS • The Collector
[SNUFF] • [SNUFF] EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.