tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl / digital review

07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL

Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

MusicVinyl / Digital


[90/100]   

Glass Modern / Glass Records
07/11/2018, Danil VOLOHOV

When Sonic Youth came to the USSR in '89, it was the first and last time that such unique artists visited the Soviet Union. Of course there were numerous artists who visited but it seems that only Sonic Youth provoked such a reaction.

On one hand - something noisy, something that Soviet listeners never heard. On the another hand – their power and energy could be proportional to the explosion of a nuclear bomb. Not only for all four of them but for any of them. At least, Thurston Moore has already proved that he can do such a thing, with the same power and energy. And re-release of his “Klangfarbenmelodie.. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv” (originally released in 1995 in New Zealand) is further proof of this.

Moore, together with his colleague and jazz-drummer - Tom Surgal, created a wonderful and atmospheric record. The fact that it’s a live recording doesn’t “kill” the album itself. It seems that Thurston and Tom made an excellent decision – to use the space of the area as their clamping tool. Echoes of Thurston’s gloomy and noisy chords resonate with the space of the ballroom, creating the depth of the sound. But not just gloomy. At least, speaking about Moore’s creativity – we can’t say that of how he works with the chords, progressions etc. - with the feelings he wants to express. In the second part of the record the artist makes you feel the howls of his guitar, overdosing with effects and distortion. While Tom Surgal, enhances the effect with his endless drum beatings.

The duo keeps you in suspense until the last second. However, it’s not such an “uncomfortable” suspense. Rather the opposite…like something you may feel watching “Le Samourai” knowing the ending of the film.

Danil VOLOHOV
07/11/2018


07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv 07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall