tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

TIDES FROM NEBULA

Safehaven

MusicCD
Post RockSpacerock

[80/100]   

Long Branch Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Polish post rockers of Tides From Nebula try to give their music a space feel. I can’t think of any better description for its atmospheric music. Their band name refers to the universe. A Nebula is an interstellar gas cloud that serves as a birthplace of stars. The issue is not new. More concept albums and songs are made about this theme: think of Space Oddity by David Bowie, Countdown by Rush or Interstellar Overdrive by Pink Floyd.

The band was formed in 2008 and Safe Haven is the fourth album. In early May it will be released through Mystic Productions (a big Polish label that features Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) and Long Branch Records (Kaiser Chiefs or Everlast ).

Safe Haven is a strong and beautiful album. The title track opens the album in a quiet and thoughtful way. A bit like Pink Floyd’s Wish You Were Here. Halfway through the song, we hear a breaking rhythm and an echoing guitar. The keyboards sound very nice. Percussion and drumming reveal a delicate craftsmanship. Just listen to the intro of Knees To Earth... All The Steps I've Made contains subtle guitars, spacious-sounding keys, a singing bass and drums. We Are The Minor has just been released as a single and floats on a guitar riff that colors the entire song. All songs are decent and the result is a homogeneous and captivating album.

Tides From Nebula has made a spacy and emotional sounding instrumental album. Despite the lack of a voice, the songs have much to tell, in other words you don’t miss the vocals. It's a nice trip of 8 songs that is available as LP and CD (ev. with T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Poolse postrockers van Tides From Nebula proberen met hun muziek ruimte en heelal weer te geven. Een betere omschrijving kan ik niet bedenken voor hun vrij atmosferische muziek. Ook hun bandnaam verwijst naar het heelal. Een Nebula is immers een interstellaire gas- en stofwolk die fungeert als geboorteplaats van sterren. Nu, het onderwerp is niet nieuw. Er zijn wel vaker conceptplaten en liedjes omtrent dit thema gemaakt. Denk aan Space Oddity door David Bowie, Countdown van Rush of Interstellar Overdrive van Pink Floyd.

De band zag het daglicht in 2008 en Safehaven is het vierde album. Begin mei wordt het op de wereld losgelaten via Mystic Productions (groot Pools label van o.a. Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) en Long Branch Records (o.a. Kaiser Chiefs, Everlast…).

Safehaven is een sterk en mooi klinkend album. De titelsong opent de plaat op een rustige en doordachte manier. Een beetje zoals Pink Floyd op Wish You Were Here. Halfweg bloeit de song open met een brekend ritme en een galmende gitaar. De keyboards klinken heel erg mooi. Percussie en het drumwerk getuigen van fijnzinnig vakmanschap. Luister maar eens naar de intro van Knees To EarthAll The Steps I've Made bevat subtiel gitaarwerk, ruimtelijk klinkende keys, een zingende bas en ondersteund drumwerk. We Are The Minor is zopas als single verschenen en drijft op een gitaarriffje dat de hele song kleurt. Alle songs zijn degelijk en het resultaat is een homogeen en boeiend album.

Tides From Nebula heeft een spacy en emotioneel klinkend instrumentaal album gemaakt. Ondanks het ontbreken van een zangstem, hebben de tracks toch veel te vertellen, m.a.w. je mist de vocalen niet echt. Het is een mooie trip van 8 songs, verkrijgbaar als lp en cd (eventueel met T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven 09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)