tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/05/2011 : TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN - To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN

To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicPost PunkPunk

[72/100]   

Infrastition
15/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

The musicindustry might be in deep crisis as they say, but this doesn’t stop musicfanatics to search pearls from the past (or very expensive vinyl collectors) and give them a proper reissue.

A very nice example of this must be the French label Infrastition. True archivists of the very rich French underground, Infrastition also concentrates from to time on productions from beyond their borders: Tom’s Midnight Garden for instance are British.

Named after the famous childnovel by Philippa Pearce, three Brits Dev, Bill and Kappa decided to make their entrance in the British underground circa 1984.
After some gigs their future seemed to be bright but at the moment their record was completed to get released on the 96 Tapes label, the band decided to call it quits and the album never saw daylight.
Years later Infrastition took care of it , with some extra songs as a bonus.

We can easily imagine that back then there were more than one band around who sounded like Tom’s Midnight Garden and totally missed the boat, but still it’s a delight to hear those sounds back (true musicfans certainly will do remember that once we used to do that with tapes).
Their sound lays between the deathrock of Play Dead and the punky sound of Spizz Energi.

Where Spock hangs out is still a mystery but what we do know is that Tom Midnight’s Garden is available at the better recordstore, Wool-E Shop for instance.

Didier BECU
15/05/2011


NL

De muziekcrisis mag dan wel een feit zijn, toch belet dit muziekfanaten niet om verloren gegane pareltjes (of gewoon onbetaalbaar vinyl) te gaan opvissen en ze van een degelijke heruitgave te voorzien

Het Franse Infrastition is daar een mooi voorbeeld van. Ook al concentreert dit label zich hoofdzakelijk op de rijke Franse undergroundscene toch kijken zij ook over de grenzen: deze Tom’s Midnight Garden zijn namelijk Britten.

Genoemd naar het wereldberoemde kinderboek van Philippa Pearce maakten de drie heren Dev, Bill en Kappa ergens in 1984 hun intrede in de Engelse underground.
Na een paar concerten waren de verwachtingen torenhoog gespannen maar toen zij de laatste hand legden aan hun album dat zou worden uitgebracht op het 96 Tapes label, besloot de groep om er mee te stoppen en zo kwam het dat deze release nooit werd uitgebracht.

Jaren na datum is er nu op Infrastition alsnog een release en meteen krijg je er als bonus nog wat extra nummers bovenop.

Er zullen wellicht rond dat tijdstip wel honderden groepjes als Tom’s Midnight Garden hebben rondgelopen die destijds de boot misten, maar toch is het een fantastische evaring om al die groepjes terug te gaan ontdekken (ware muziekfanaten zullen zich nog wel herinneren dat we dat in die goede oude tijd, of zoiets toch, door middel van cassetjes deden).

Muzikaal kun je stellen dat dit trio zowel de deathrock van Play Dead als het punky geluid van Spizz Energi bevat. Waar Spock uithangt weten we tot op heden niet, maar wel weten we dat deze Tom’s Midnight Garden nu in de betere platenzaak (Wool-E Shop bijvoorbeeld) beschikbaar is.

Didier BECU
15/05/2011


 

Next reviews
CHARLES BAUDELAIRE • Les fleurs du mal
SCHLEIMER K • Wounded Wood
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic Pop Deux
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Alfa matrix re:covered vol.2 : a tribute to depeche mode
GRIMES • Halfaxa
DER PLAN • Geri Reig
BUZZ • Buzz Blitz Klub Vol.1 : Dancefloor De La Mort
RAYOGRAPHS • Rayographs
GAVIN FRIDAY • Catholic
MATT HOWDEN • Robot World

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba
22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 43 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!
06
05
Neo-Classical Band AUTUMN TEARS Reveals The Glow Of Desperation
05
05
This month it is 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released their EP Disorder!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour
10
05
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
09
05
WANT/ED
(You) Won't Regret
08
05
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
07
05
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
06
05
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Fashion Party