tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/05/2011 : TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN - To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN

To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicPost PunkPunk

[72/100]   

Infrastition
15/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

The musicindustry might be in deep crisis as they say, but this doesn’t stop musicfanatics to search pearls from the past (or very expensive vinyl collectors) and give them a proper reissue.

A very nice example of this must be the French label Infrastition. True archivists of the very rich French underground, Infrastition also concentrates from to time on productions from beyond their borders: Tom’s Midnight Garden for instance are British.

Named after the famous childnovel by Philippa Pearce, three Brits Dev, Bill and Kappa decided to make their entrance in the British underground circa 1984.
After some gigs their future seemed to be bright but at the moment their record was completed to get released on the 96 Tapes label, the band decided to call it quits and the album never saw daylight.
Years later Infrastition took care of it , with some extra songs as a bonus.

We can easily imagine that back then there were more than one band around who sounded like Tom’s Midnight Garden and totally missed the boat, but still it’s a delight to hear those sounds back (true musicfans certainly will do remember that once we used to do that with tapes).
Their sound lays between the deathrock of Play Dead and the punky sound of Spizz Energi.

Where Spock hangs out is still a mystery but what we do know is that Tom Midnight’s Garden is available at the better recordstore, Wool-E Shop for instance.

Didier BECU
15/05/2011


NL

De muziekcrisis mag dan wel een feit zijn, toch belet dit muziekfanaten niet om verloren gegane pareltjes (of gewoon onbetaalbaar vinyl) te gaan opvissen en ze van een degelijke heruitgave te voorzien

Het Franse Infrastition is daar een mooi voorbeeld van. Ook al concentreert dit label zich hoofdzakelijk op de rijke Franse undergroundscene toch kijken zij ook over de grenzen: deze Tom’s Midnight Garden zijn namelijk Britten.

Genoemd naar het wereldberoemde kinderboek van Philippa Pearce maakten de drie heren Dev, Bill en Kappa ergens in 1984 hun intrede in de Engelse underground.
Na een paar concerten waren de verwachtingen torenhoog gespannen maar toen zij de laatste hand legden aan hun album dat zou worden uitgebracht op het 96 Tapes label, besloot de groep om er mee te stoppen en zo kwam het dat deze release nooit werd uitgebracht.

Jaren na datum is er nu op Infrastition alsnog een release en meteen krijg je er als bonus nog wat extra nummers bovenop.

Er zullen wellicht rond dat tijdstip wel honderden groepjes als Tom’s Midnight Garden hebben rondgelopen die destijds de boot misten, maar toch is het een fantastische evaring om al die groepjes terug te gaan ontdekken (ware muziekfanaten zullen zich nog wel herinneren dat we dat in die goede oude tijd, of zoiets toch, door middel van cassetjes deden).

Muzikaal kun je stellen dat dit trio zowel de deathrock van Play Dead als het punky geluid van Spizz Energi bevat. Waar Spock uithangt weten we tot op heden niet, maar wel weten we dat deze Tom’s Midnight Garden nu in de betere platenzaak (Wool-E Shop bijvoorbeeld) beschikbaar is.

Didier BECU
15/05/2011


 

Next reviews
CHARLES BAUDELAIRE • Les fleurs du mal
SCHLEIMER K • Wounded Wood
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic Pop Deux
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Alfa matrix re:covered vol.2 : a tribute to depeche mode
GRIMES • Halfaxa
DER PLAN • Geri Reig
BUZZ • Buzz Blitz Klub Vol.1 : Dancefloor De La Mort
RAYOGRAPHS • Rayographs
GAVIN FRIDAY • Catholic
MATT HOWDEN • Robot World

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)
22
07
ALLES
My