tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS - Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)

TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS

Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Hardly anyone knows who Adrian Thaws is, but everybody knows his alter ego Tricky. Willy-nilly, the musician from Bristol was one of the figureheads of trip-hop. Of course his debut of 1995 (Maxinquaye) is a milestone in the trip-hop genre, but in his discography, which counts more than ten albums, the British musician tried to reinvent himself again and again. Brave, because Tricky realized quite well that these choices were equal to commercial suicide. Also live. Tricky is not the kind of artist who makes difficult records, but pleases the audience by transforming himself into a retro jukebox.

No comprises, even though the audience screamed to hear Black Steel, but the Briton didn’t care for one second. The only hit song was Overcome, Tricky’s version of the super hit by Massive Attack, in which he was briefly involved as Tricky Kid. For the rest, we saw a very idiosyncratic set that, as his latest album (Skilled Mechanics), returned to the base. A lo-fi Tricky so to speak, because he was only accompanied by a drummer and a guitarist.

Tricky doesn’t care about drug or smoking rules. He smokes one joint after another, he pulls his T-shirt over his head, he juggles with two microphones and throws them on the ground regularly, and occasionally he mumbles a simple thanks. Brussels didn’t see that much of this artist, not even his face, because Tricky loves darkness and he will always be a mystery. Sometimes it even seems as if the musician doesn’t care if the venue is crowded, but that is Tricky.

He started with the instrumental You Do Not Wanna and ten tracks followed (Hero, Palestine Girl, Valentine,...), and that was it. Next to me, a man was annoyed andsaid he would never come to see Tricky again if he didn’t play Hell Is Around The Corner or Black Steel. After an interlude with music of Nina Simone, Tricky returned with four tracks, including a cover of The Breeders (Do You Love Me Now?) and Boy, but not his hits. We probably won’t see that man next to me at a Tricky gig, but yours truly can’t wait to see this loony genius on stage again.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wellicht kent bijna niemand de naam Adrian Thaws, maar met diens alter ego Tricky is dat wel eventjes anders. Tegen wil en dank werd de muzikant uit Bristol een trip-hopicoon. Nou goed, zijn fenomenale debuut uit 1995 (Maxinquaye) is natuurlijk wel pure trip-hop, maar in een discografie die meer dan tien albums telt, probeerde de Britse muzikant steeds om zichzelf opnieuw uit te vinden. Moedig, want Tricky besefte maar al te goed dat deze keuzes gelijk stonden aan commerciële zelfmoord. Ook live. Tricky is immers niet het soort artiest dat moeilijke platen maakt en op het podium het publiek pleziert door zichzelf te transformeren in een retro-jukebox.

Van enig compromis is dan ook geen sprake. De zaal schreeuwt zich te pletter om Black Steel, maar daar stoort de Brit zich geen seconde aan. Het enige hitje dat men in de AB hoort is Overcome, Trickys herbewerking van de superhit van Massive Attack, waar hij als Tricky Kid eventjes bijzat. Voor de rest hoorden we een zeer eigenzinnige set die net zoals zijn nieuwste plaat (Skilled Mechanics) naar de basis teruggrijpt. Een lo-fi Tricky dus, want hij was alleen maar vergezeld van een drummer en een gitarist.

Tricky trekt zich bitter weinig aan van een drug- of rookverbod. Hij steekt de ene joint na de andere op, trekt om de minuut zijn T-shirt over zijn kop, jongleert met twee microfoons en gooit die geregeld op de grond, en af en toe mompelt hij wel eens een eenvoudig dankwoordje. Meer krijgt Brussel niet te zien van deze artiest, zelfs niet zijn gezicht, want Tricky houdt van het duister en zal altijd wel een mysterie blijven. Soms lijkt het zelfs alsof de muzikant het geen barst kan schelen of er mensen in de zaal zijn, maar dat is nu ook eenmaal Tricky.

Hij begon met het instrumentale You Don’t Wanna en nadien volgden er tien tracks (o.a. Hero, Palestine Girl, Valentine) en dat was het. Naast me stond een man zich te ergeren: hij zou nooit van z'n leven nog een concert van Tricky bijwonen indien hij Hell Is Around The Corner en Black Steel niet speelde. Tricky kwam na een intermezzo met muziek van Nina Simone terug, en bracht nog vier tracks waaronder een cover van The Breeders (Do You Love Me Now?) en Boy, maar niet die grijsgedraaide hits. Neen, die man naast me zien we waarschijnlijk nooit meer terug bij Tricky. Deze jongen kan alvast niet wachten om dit knettergek genie opnieuw op de bühne te zien.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
WE HAVE BAND
Watertight
17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn