tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : TRUE ZEBRA - War Of The Words

TRUE ZEBRA

War Of The Words

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[74/100]   

Electrock Recordings
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

War Of The Words is the third album of True Zebra, the project of Kevin Strauwen. His previous album Adoremotion (from 2014) was enthusiastically reviewed on these pages and on other Belgian webzines.

After a two months stay in Los Angeles, Kevin returned to his hometown Leuven (Belgium) with a hard-drive full of ideas. You can hear the result on War Of The Words.

After a short and odd intro, you hear True Zebra’s distinctive mix of EBM and synthpop in Know You You Know. Throughout the album, True Zebra plays with diverse electronic styles. 80’s electronics are intertwined with contemporary sounds and hints of ambient or industrial.

Everything Is Mediocre sounds menacing. Fuya and Ran sound rather fragile or bleak. Not Like Him No invites us to dance. And that goes for the dark Bitch too.

The whispering of Kevin Strauwen is reminiscent of Trent Raznor. Earlier referrals to Nine Inch Nails are clear. But True Zebra isn’t that “dangerous”. As if those sharp nails were filed. War Of The Words may have sounded more exciting and rousing. With Kevin Strauwen’s album Moving Sound & Music For Film (Wool-E-Tapes) in mind, I expected more experiment. Nevertheless, War Of The Words is a fair and entertaining album that is alternately danceable, dark, brooding and bleak.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
CAISARON • Reflection
VOODOO BIBLE • Black Tarot
GREYHOUND • Inner Noise Level
FEW BITS + RUDY TROUVE • Antwerp, Trix (09/06/2016)
EXPLOSIONS IN THE SKY • Brussels, AB (08/06/2016)
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
SIEGFRIED • K
DIVINE • Shoot Your Shot - Anthology
PARADE GROUND + HYPNOSKULL + IMMINENT

 

Other reviews from TRUE ZEBRA
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
TRUE ZEBRA • Adoremotion
TRUE ZEBRA • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
TRUE ZEBRA • True Zebra

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace
23
07
NORMA LOY
STRANGE SUMMER' (BAPHOMET)